Three Chapters Into the Madness

After four hours of work, I’m one tenth of the way done with draft three of Summer Rush. And guess what? I love my novel again! *muahahaha!* <— That’s my evil, gleeful laughter.

I’d been avoiding putting pen to paper for awhile, although I knew it wasn’t going to be even half as painful as I imagined. I didn’t have a game plan, so the whole project seemed overwhelming. Instead of coming up with a plan, I decided to dive in and just see what happened. So that’s exactly what I did.

The major framework for the novel is in place, so I can take it one chapter at a time, and devote all my energy into some intense writing without worrying about major plot points getting messed up.

But, in reference to number 4 in this post detailing why I hated my novel (number four being the superfluous character I didn’t want to cut out), I’ve sort of dealt with the problem. I still don’t want to cut the character, but I’m hoping that by making it clear he’s not a main player, I can still keep him.

It’s kind of pathetic, but I can’t be the only one who gets this attachment to a completely pointless character, right? He’s just a fun person who never asked to be superfluous.

Anyway, I’m trying to think positively, at least until I get to the halfway point. Then I’ll feel much better about everything, whether I’m trying to or not. I think three chapters in one day is a record for my editing skills. *pats self on back*

This time around, I’m going to remember to type up the chapter edits as I’m doing the chapters, so I’m not stuck with hours and hours of this boring work at the end, when I’d like to be celebrating.

How’re everybody’s projects coming along? Making progress? Stuck in a novel-hating funk?

***

If you’re looking for a writing challenge, check these out! I’m attempting to do them all, but we’ll see how that works out ;)

Join the June Flash Fiction Challenge. 

Do a writing challenge about the apocalypse.

Join the YA Novel Writing Challenge.

June Writing Challenge – Creature Feature

7 thoughts on “Three Chapters Into the Madness

  1. Thanks for the pingback! And congrats on your progress. =]

    I know how it feels to get attached to pointless characters. I usually see one quirk about them and wind up adoring them, and creating a back story in my head which makes me love them more. I usually strive to keep them in the background if I don’t cut them out entirely. Though, I do have a secret guilty pleasure of writing short or flash fictions about the minor characters I love. LOL. Even if I never show them to anyone.

    • Haha. I might have to try that! Then I won’t feel so much like I abandoned the poor guy. He’s such a funny character, and I’m going to try to give him more than just a cameo in the next book.

  2. Exciting stuff! I’m glad you’re entirely out of your novel-hating spot. I’m a bit jealous that you actaully have everything laid out, though lol. I’m hoping the same goes for the third draft of STARSONG, but I have a little ways to go until that comes along.
    Good luck, and thanks for recommending those challenges! I’ve done two of them already, but that apocalypse one really caught my eye!
    =)

  3. I used to be a total pantser but now I’ve gone all plotter. Sigh. Totally ruined my reputation. :D But, its making the rest of my MIP flow a lot easier. Good luck on the rest of your edits.

Leave a Reply

