Notebooks and the Back-to-School World Domination Plan

The Lizard (aka, my sister Liz) and I went shopping at Target yesterday, in search of one of these fun pillows. I never know what they’re called. A pillow with arms? Anyway, hers isn’t cool and fuzzy; it’s just black.

But, whilst we were browsing the racks with happy abandon, I saw them.

SCHOOL SUPPLIES.

I know I said just yesterday that I couldn’t wait to go back to school. But, for some reason, seeing all those little glue sticks and lunch boxes (GAH. WHY DON’T THEY EVER HAVE TRANSFORMERS LUNCH BOXES? I WANT ONE!) sends a shiver up my spine.

When I was in middle school, I remember I loved it when all those shiny new things came out of hiding. I would kill for one of those little glue sticks that had the glitter, or the mechanical pencils, or the pens that erased (awful invention. Just awful).

Don’t even get me started on what I would do for a composition book with my favorite cartoon character on it.

I no longer drool over such things. I have one weak spot where school supplies are concerned, and that is notebooks. I love notebooks. I love them like you would not believe. I’m a writer, after all, aren’t I?

Yesterday, once I was effectively distracted from the Great Pillow Search, I saw a turquoise notebook that said I’M JUST PRETENDING TO TAKE NOTES, and a gray one that said COLLEGE IS A FOUNTAIN OF KNOWLEDGE, AND STUDENTS ARE HERE TO DRINK.

I became a zombie. Must have this… (imagine it in a zombiefied mumble). They were simple one-subject notebooks. The only special thing about them were the words on the cover, but they cost three times as a regular notebook. I decided to get them anyway.

Two steps later, I found an even COOLER notebook, with French words and an awesome picture that looked all stylish and sophisticated. It was five-subjects, and the pages were different colors.

Zombie voice again: Must have this… 

But my mom’s stern shopping teachings kicked in, and I decided I was not going to buy three over-priced notebooks. That was just too much. So the nail-biting question became, WHICH ONE DO I GET?

Ten minutes later, I chose the French notebook. The choice just about killed me.

This is why back-to-school supply sales are evil. There’s just too much stuff, and it’s all color coordinated, or it has cute puppies or Bumblebee or Johnny Depp on it, and you know you’ll never need it, but you just HAVE TO HAVE IT.

Stores are going to take over the world (or at least the people with notebook addictions) with these sales. Just watch.

One thought on “Notebooks and the Back-to-School World Domination Plan

  1. i’m 72 years old-and certainly not in school. Yet, i purchased both of these notebooks. my 48 year old daughter said, “Mommy why are you buying those notebooks? they are so overpriced. What in the world are you going to do with them. I lied, and said I was buying them for a neighbor who is attending college. I don’t know why I decided to google these today to see if I could find more. Also, why did I deny buying them for myself. I claimed they were for someone else. I couldn’t admit to being so frivilous, but I just had to have them. They are so cute! I hope there are more so that I can buy them when I am shopping alone. After all, I have a reputation to keep up. Something like not buying senseless items that will just lay around and catch dust. This conflicts heavily with another saying, “IF IT FEELS GOOD, DO IT! I love showing them off, and getting a laugh out of people.

Leave a Reply

