You Are Awesome

I have a busy week ahead of me. It’s ten thirty in the evening, and I kind of want to jump into bed and enjoy sweet sleep, because there’ll undoubtedly be a lack of that commodity once my week gets started.

But at the same time, I want to edit a few more chapters of Summer Rush (specifically, chapters 10 and 11, just about my favorite chapters of all time), work on proofreading my sister’s nonfiction e-book, try to keep reading The Body Finder (it’s boring me, but I’m trying to give it a shot), or add some meat to my NaNoWriMo novel.

It’s so easy to get frustrated and/or overwhelmed when you have multiple writing projects and all your normal life stuff to deal with.

And so, a few minutes ago, I said this to myself three times: You are awesome.

Because, not to sound too full of myself, I am. Everyone is. In spite of everything demanding my attention, I managed to get some writing done today. It wasn’t as much as I would have liked, but it was something. And I enjoyed it.

In spite of everything, I worked on my anthropology paper. I finally settled on a topic and began an outline.

In spite of everything, I spent some time with the fam, making s’mores on our fire pit in the backyard, going for a walk with my siblings and my nephew and our dog.

In spite of everything, I did a favor for somebody – loads and loads of laundry for my oldest sister.

Every now and then, instead of focusing on what you didn’t get done, it’s nice to dwell on the things that you did finish. Everything will still be here tomorrow. For now, I’m going to enjoy a well-earned sleep.

Leave a Reply

