Turning Points: Guest Post by Tara Kelly

gabriellan:

Great post alert! I love this blog series, and this one in particular spoke to me. Remember my happy post about novel fifteen? That one (still untitled, darn it!) is my book that’s different from all the others I’ve written. It was strange to write, and I hated it at first, but I read it for the first time yesterday since I finished it, and I realized it’s actually what I wanted to write all along.

Originally posted on distraction no.99:

This guest post is part of the Turning Points blog series here on distraction no. 99—in which I asked authors the question: What was your turning point as a writer? Here is YA author Tara Kelly revealing hers…


Guest post by Tara Kelly

I’ve been writing stories since I can remember. I was a head-in-the-clouds child, always living inside my imagination. Dreaming about a different world. A better world. My adult self realizes this was my escape, my way of coping with a pretty brutal childhood. I could talk about how writing helped me survive abuse. Being bullied. The wrong friends. I could talk about college and how my writing got torn to shreds by a couple professors. One of them even told me to just…give it up. And I did for a while. I figured I’d never be good enough to be published…so why bother to try for it?…

View original 782 more words

Leave a Reply

