Book Learning Podcast Episode Four (Plus JulNoWriMo Day 9)

It’s that time again, folks! Stephanie and I have recorded podcast episode four, and in this episode we talk about rules for writers. Stephanie found Ten Rules For Writing Fiction, which was inspired by Elmore Leonard’s book 10 Rules for Writing. In the post, several writers talk about their personal ten rules, and in the podcast, Stephanie and I talk about our favorite rules, as well as some that we felt a little iffy about.

During the podcast I mention a blog post by the awesome and informative Kristen Lamb. I couldn’t remember the name of it at the time, but it was 4 Writing Crutches That Insult the Reader’s Intelligence. Definitely check that out. Check out her whole blog, because she writes some great stuff.

As for the books Steph and I are in the process of reading… She’s reading the famousĀ Pride and Prejudice, and I’m reading Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Prince, book two in the Infernal Devices trilogy. I got it a super long time ago but have only just now started reading it because (sadly) it took me this long to get used to my Kindle app for my computer rather than an actual book. Yeah. Pretty sad.

And finally! A JulNoWriMo updated.

ALLIE SEVVEN is about to have zombies added to the story line. It started out as a dystopian novel, but what with aliens being thrown in and stuff, it’s taken a strong swerve towards the straight up science fiction side of the fence. I’m currently at 35,007 words, and I’ve cut the projected word goal from 75,000 to 60,000.

In other news, I’m trying to finish Mockingjay. I don’t know if I ever mentioned that I read the first two Hunger Games books, but Mockingjay is really giving me a hard time. It might because somebody coughCRITPARTNERcough told me that somebody died and ruined everything for me. Grr. Also, and I feel bad for saying this, I’m not buying this whole WE NEED YOU TO BE THE MOCKINGJAY KATNISS plot line. It feels contrived.

Anyway, I started my summer Spanish class this day. I’ll be in class three hours a day, four days a week, until August 3rd (my big sister’s birthday!). But on top of class, volunteering, work, podcasting, and novel writing, I shall attempt to keep blogging. In spite of the fact that I’m royally lazy about it.

Adios!

6 thoughts on “Book Learning Podcast Episode Four (Plus JulNoWriMo Day 9)

  1. I had a really hard time gettig through Mockingjay, too, but Clockwork Prince is one of my all-time favorite books. I’ve underlined so much in it. Good luck on JulNoWriMo!

    • Thank you :)

      I’ve gotten past the point in Clockwork Prince where Will and Tessa have their talk after he finds out about you know what being a sham and I have properly lamented the circumstances, so now I can finish the book without freaking out about it anymore. Haha.

  2. Oh, that book just breaks my heart. I want to chuck it across the room, out the window, and hope it goes sailing somewhere I can’t ever find it again. But I love it at the same time. Cassandra Clare herself said that Clockwork Prince was supposed to be a knife that stabs you and then twists around a little. I think that description fits. I do wonder what she’s up to, though, since she’s got her characters cornered good and proper.

  3. Pingback: The Book Learning Podcast: #4 + 5 » Life In Limbo

Leave a Reply

