life · nonfiction · writing

Journaling?

As a very late graduation present to myself, I bought a beautiful hot pink journal. The book my mom gave me, “Everything You Need to Know Before College,” highly suggests writing in a journal while you’re making that big transition in your life.

I’ve started somewhere around thirty journals in my lifetime but I never end up finishing them. I write so much on other stuff I barely have time to write in a journal. And, to be quite honest, I’m not much of a “thinker.” I don’t reflect on the days’ happenings or dive too deep into meanings and feelings unless it’s for a fictional character. That’s probably not a good thing.

Most of the how-to books on writing I’ve read encourage writing in a journal as well so I’m determined to give it at least one more shot. If the journal I’ve selected to write in has a cool cover (which this new one does) I’m more likely to use it more often. Sad, I know, but there’s something about cool notebooks and pens and the like that draws me in like a moth to a flame.

On a side note, I tried to figure out how many words I’ve written since I was fourteen. The number is about 1.2 million. I wonder how many words your average writer writes in a lifetime. That’s got to be a huge number.

Leave a Reply

