life · NaNoWriMo · novels · writing

I Was Plotting Today

I have discovered that the villain of Elsewise, The Dark One, is supposed to be funny. He’s been imprisoned in a giant boulder for a thousand years; if he didn’t have a sense of humor, he would have gone mad hundreds of years ago. I’ve also discovered what he looks like (jotted this during my math test):

ghastly to look at: half dragon, half human, half angel, half dirt. eyes are sparkling black, hair is a straggly, curly, bright red mess. of human height and build, covered in hot red dragon scales, with limp, feathered wings, and blue stripes across his neck and shoulders.

I don’t know where the stripes part came from. And I don’t know how you can have four halves. Oh, well. At least I know who he is, now, other than that he commands an unending, undead army.

I have also learned that Kit has tattoos on her scalp. Who knew? I was worried for awhile she’d be going around bald but that is not to be. Apparently, hair does grow back over tattoos. Which is nice for Kit. Not to mention a scene I had in mind would have to be cut out if she didn’t have any hair.

A word about Rebel Dragons: they’re an extremist group who think dragons should cut all ties with humans and any other humanoid, and return to their country (Cascadia) to live in relative peace and quiet. They try to butcher dragon-human relationships in any way they can by eating humans and ravaging any town too small to fight back. I don’t know what part they’ll be playing, though.

I also discovered what a Dragon Queen is.

And I know what Armani Bedingfield is up to! Finally! I think I do, anyway. It can get kind of confusing. At least I have his surname now. I think I have my opening scene somewhat cemented in my head, but the outline of it still needs some straightening out. I considered starting with The Dark One, stuck in his boulder. Who knows what will happen? (I also figured out the ritual that has to be done to get him out of the boulder. It’s kind of random).

Anyway, Not Another Stupid Romance is not even in the outlining stage yet! And I only have two more days! Ugh! *pulls out hair* I know pretty well what’s going to happen in that. I have the opening scene. But plot arcs, character bios, setting – those are all luxuries that, at the moment, Not Another Stupid Romance has not been able to afford. But I’m determined to get my act together.

Hell’s Daughter, on the other hand, doesn’t need any planning. I know exactly what’s going to happen and when. I know all my characters, I know the setting, I know the beginning, middle, and end of the novel. It’s set. Thank goodness for that, too, considering everything else is a messy mess.

Elsewise will be my primary novel for next month, so I should figure that one out first. But I really, really, really want to write Not Another Stupid Romance. It’ll be so much fun! I love humor/romance. It’s the best. Elsewise is humor, too – Humorous Urban Fantasy. But it’s not the same.

And in the midst of all this disaster, I’m still trying to rewrite Summer Rush and just plain write on California Girl (poor thing, I’ve been neglecting it terribly). I lost my train of thought on California Girl because I’m so obsessed with getting my NaNo plots ready. And I was panicking about my tests in school (I have three out-of-class assignments due during NaNo; two for music, one for history). But at least I have some of them out of the way.

I saw the official thread for the CreateSpace offer on NaNo today. That just about made my day. I have my book from CreateSpace sitting on my desk next to me right now (yeah, I’m sitting on my desk. It’s comfy!). I absolutely loved it. This year I think I’m going to try something crazy different for my cover, just because. And I’d love to have illustrations, but I can’t even draw stick figures, and I don’t happen to know any amazing talented artists, either. Drawing is a skill I’ve always wanted to learn.

Anyway, I think I’ve made this post long enough! How’s everybody’s writing/NaNo planning going? Sunny days, cupcakes with sprinkles, and good NaNo-ing to all! ❤

Leave a Reply

