NaNoWriMo · novels · writing

Summer Rush and California Girl

So, I’ve been rewriting and re-brainstorming Summer Rush for the past two or three weeks. And you know what my slow mind finally realized today? California Girl’s timeline has been completely trashed. The two books don’t line up anymore. In fact, I was looking through the different beginnings I wrote for California Girl (sometimes I write anywhere between two and eight different first chapters), and I kind of think I like an older version.

The entire California Girl novel that I have posted on Inkpop will most likely be coming down soon. Which I’m kind of sad about, because it was doing well and people seemed to like it. However, I’m not sad that a horrific piece of writing will be going into the Safe of Terrible Writing.

For now, I’m going to focus on getting Summer Rush perfect for when/if it hits top five. I don’t want the first thing of mine read by a real editor to be a bulk of trash. And when Summer Rush is finished, polished, and ready for anything, I’ll get back to California Girl.

I think working on two different novels at the same time, with two very dominant female MCs, kind of messed with my head. I had to click from Lexi mode to Angel mode; I thought it was working at the time because words were still coming, but now I’ve come to the realization that both books suffered for it.

Anyway, that’s what’s up with those two novels. The California Girl storyline that I’ll most likely end up writing is very different from the current one, and the main focus swerves from Tasha vs. Lexi to something else completely. That’s mainly because Tasha is neck-deep in some problems of her own.

Have I already mentioned that I’m making Rexi younger? As of the new rewrite, they’ll be sixteen rather than seventeen.

So much writing to do! I can’t decide whether I’m ecstatic or… or whatever the opposite of ecstatic is. By the way, I should finish my first 50,000 words for NaNo either late tonight or tomorrow. Then I’ll be a fourth of the way done. Or something. I might drop my goal to 150,000 or even 100,000 words. Just way too little time. Maybe next year.

3 thoughts on “Summer Rush and California Girl

  1. I liked them as seventeen-year-olds better too. I hope you don’t change Summer Rush too much. I really like it the way it is now. You’re an amazing writer so don’t stop writing.

Leave a Reply

