life · novels · writing

Still on Summer Rush…

You know what’s hard? Editing. You probably already knew that. But the more time I spend working on Summer Rush’s changes, the more frustrated I get. I have 30,000 words worth of comments on this novel; some of it is useful, some of it is great for my ego, some of it is just… stuff.

The big question is, which of it is useful? A lot of the stuff that some people loved (myself included), other people strongly disliked. Then there’s stuff I liked that I was counseled to change. So… who knows what they’re talking about? And am I right, or am I completely blind to my own writing’s faults? It’s kind of frustrating. Summer Rush is the favorite of all my novels, so I want to make sure it’s really good.

I’ve never really truly edited something before. I love editing, turning a diamond in the rough into a quality jewel and all that, but I love writing more. So I tend to write, then throw that project aside and jump right into the next one. As much as I love editing, I’m still very much a novice at it.

Anyway, that was a bit of a rant. Nothing to do but keep on pushing and working at it ^.^

One thought on “Still on Summer Rush…

  1. No, I think you’re right. Editing is hard…which is why not one single novel of mine has been edited. Sad, but true. I am going to be changing that soon but not right this second…in 2011.
    So many comments from Inkpop have got to be hard to sort through. Good luck with Summer Rush! And remember, you are an amazing author! Don’t let this slow you down or make you question your skills, ok? I read Firefly Dancer and it is flawless! I hardly ever found a grammatical error and the writing was great. Keep going! You got this!

Leave a Reply

