novels · writing

Origins

I was looking through this random story that I started writing in January, and I realized where the idea for Summer Rush came from.

The January story was about a seventeen-year-old girl named Darcy, who was virtually a lab rat for a company that specialized in genetic research. She started out as a four-year-old genius living in a special community with a bunch of other geniuses, then they sold her to the other company. Her friend Zach is trying to find out what happened her, Darcy is trying to figure out how her life went down the toilet, and in the midst of all that was a newborn shapeshifter.

Anyway, I don’t know what my mind was thinking in January, but as I was reading the story, I saw several things that I ended up putting in Summer Rush: a red vintage Mustang convertible, a girl who didn’t remember her mother, a stupid incident with cars, and a father trying to fill the void his wife had left behind.

Crazy, huh? Humorous Romance came out of Sci-Fi/Action. Darcy was even a tad bit like Lexus (just a tad). Zach was Rush with a bunch more character flaws ^_^

That is not the end of the strangeness. I started four or five different stories in that same document, and they all had one thing in common: a Rush character. It took me the next three months to finally figure out who that character was and what story he actually belonged in, but I must say, I’m glad I did.

Anyway, in all the other stories, there was all this other stuff that ended up in Summer Rush: the house in Greece, the phrase (Rush’s favorite) “vultures on a carcass,” James’ character – although in that story, he was a driver – Jenna’s character, Lexi’s chocolate addiction. It’s so weird seeing all that stuff in another story!

EDIT – EDIT – EDIT

I just read the last thing I wrote in that Word document. And it was the original version of California Girl! Granted, it was written two days before I’d even come up with the official idea of Summer Rush, but this was so California Girl! Except the MC’s name was Katie Belle (???) and the former queen of the school was named Jetta (Jetta, Jenna, am I the only one seeing that?).

Okay, seriously. I’m going to study now.

Leave a Reply

