life · writing

One Hundredth Post

This is my one hundredth post O.O

I’ve been looking forward to this moment for a long time. Actually, mostly I’ve been looking forward to getting well. I have been sick. That’s why I’ve been AWOL, by the way. I had some sort of crazy illness that made me cough, cry, hallucinate, faint, lose all appetite; it basically reduced me to a whimpering mess. I couldn’t look at the computer screen for more than a few minutes without my eyes watering and my head aching. My mother had to drive me to school. I hunched in the back in class, and just about cried when I had to give a speech in my Communications class. My voice sounded awful, when it had a sound at all.

But, for the most part, I’m up for the count and operating at about 85 percent. My voice is almost back to normal, which is good. I have to give a 90 second speech in every single Comm class. That’s been fun, but hard on the voice! And on the nerves, too, since I’ve never been the best at public speaking.

Besides being sick and pathetic, I haven’t been doing very much. I couldn’t write, or read much either. I did read one book, a Kate Brian Private novel called Vanished. I think I’ve mentioned the Private books before. I absolutely hate – really, I use the word “hate” lightly – the main character, Reed Brennan. She’s awful. But for some reason I keep reading the series. I read the spin-off series, Privilege, too. That MC is a complete psycho but I like her better anyway.

As for writing… I may have written a whopping 500 words this month. Oh wait, that’s not true! I started writing the sixth Angel book and it has about 16,000 words. I don’t even remember what that book’s plot was supposed to be. I wrote it in the two or three days before I got sick, and those days are all a blur now.

The other day I printed out Summer Rush, with both alternate endings, as well as both versions of the chapter which will decide the ending. It all came out to about 400 pages. I almost forgot to put page numbers on it. I know I’m going to drop all those pages sooner or later, so thank goodness I remembered the page numbers at the last minute. Anyway, I always edit much faster and more efficiently on paper for some reason, so I expect that the editing of Summer Rush will be finished eventually, my laziness notwithstanding.

Hm, what else has happened?

We got new carpet in the living room! It’s super soft and kind of bouncy. Combined with the new flat screen TV and the fancy entertainment center that Dad just got, and I told my sister that it looks like a rich person’s living room ^.^ The crazy children overrunning the room kind of ruins the effect, but oh well!

I have homework and editing to do, and my dogs are clamoring to be fed. Hopefully, I’ll actually post tomorrow, and won’t disappear into the atmosphere again.

Leave a Reply

