Books · novels · writing

Back on Summer Rush

I’m sorry; I’m back to obsessing over my novel. A new scene has been introduced. Rush and Lexi’s parents have them both write a list of ten things that they like about the other, in hopes of reminding their children how much they love each other. Their lists go something like this:

10 Things I Love About Lexi, a list by Rush

1). Most of the time, she’s a good sport about being a loser

2). She’s not a tattletale (not that I’ve done anything to tattle about)

3). She makes a cute face when she’s confused

4). She’s tidy (except where her closet’s concerned)

5). Her ears stick out

6). We both like fast cars

7). She always keeps the stuffed animals I give her

8). She can’t stop me from using her stuff

9). She has a good laugh

10). She smiles a lot

10 Things I Love About Rush, a list by Lexi

1). Most of the time, he’s a good sport about being a loser

2). He isn’t a tattletale (because I do nothing to tattle about! Don’t even go there, Dad)

3). He has funny hair

4). When it’s important, I know he’ll always be on my side

5). Our laughs match

6). He’s good for carrying things

7). If I ask nicely, he lets me have the last of the ice cream

8). He gives really good hugs

9). We like the same books and movies (mostly)

10). I have another reason but I’m not telling you

I’ll post the full scene once I fix it up a little more! I’m really supposed to be working on the first 2/3ish chapters of Summer Rush, but then we all know about my lack of focus, don’t we?

Leave a Reply

