writing

Up to Chapter 13!

I got an awesome four hours of work done on Summer Rush last night (7:30 to 11:30; my eyes were too tired to go on after that!). I don’t think I can say enough how much fun this is! With every chapter I come up with new ideas. I got to work on Chapter 12: The Punishment & the Party. I started reading over it and then was hit with a brilliant idea. It involves Brett.

Honestly, I’m amazed at all the potential Brett’s character had, and I never used him! It’s crazy. All the different ways I could have used him as a stumbling block in Rexi’s relationship, and I barely had him as a sideshow. It’s downright sad. I’ll be righting that wrong, as chapter twelve will soon be able to attest.

Yesterday afternoon, I was blog-surfing and came across some helpful ideas to help me out with my rewriting/editing. I have no idea which idea came from what blog; I don’t even remember the blogs anymore! But one idea was to have an index card and use it to jot down phrases or words that you find yourself using a lot, so later you can go back and get rid of them, but don’t have to worry about them now. So I got a handy index card (I’m totally loving these things) and wrote in big words across the top Target These Words. When it comes down to line-editing, I’ll know exactly what to look for.

Speaking of characters with untapped potential, Tasha is another one. The other day I was listening to a song – I’m so mad about this, actually, because I can’t remember what it was!!! – and I realized that it summed her up perfectly. This girl’s got a lot more going on upstairs than I thought. In the 3-ish minutes it took for that song to play, a complete 3D character was reformed in my head.

One character I’m still circling, trying to get into the head of, is James. I love me some James. He’s the sweetest guy, so level-headed, and a genius on top of that. But there’s still something more to him that I can’t put my finger on. So I’m still trying to figure that out.

Otherwise, my characters are opening up like books with worn bindings! (Please ignore my awful similes). In fact, I’m liking them all so much more that I’m fighting to give them all more face time. So not happening. Summer Rush is long enough already, thank you very much. I’ve got to keep that excessive writer in me in check!

Leave a Reply

