life · writing

March Madness

My friend Karlee brings whole new meaning to the phrase “March Madness.” I’m not talking about sports. I’m talking about writing. She wants us to do a NaNo-esque, 50,000 word writing spree during the month of March. I automatically started to say no – I’m supposed to be focusing on my current projects, after all – but then, sadly, I was tempted.

You could write California Girl in that time, my evil, writing-obsessed alter-ego suggested unhelpfully.

Me: “But I really should focus. Summer Rush is nowhere near being finished!”

Evil Alter-Ego: Don’t be silly, Gabs. You can do two things at once; lots of things at once. You’re getting awfully bored with editing and rewriting, anyway, aren’t you? Having something fun to work on will help you!

Me: “I realize you’re trying to make me go mad.”

Evil Alter-Ego: “Who, me?” *looks around innocently* “I’m trying to help you!”

Me: “All right! If you insist.”

And so, my plan to take things slowly and productively have since gone out the window. When March arrives, I’ll start a new Word Document and start writing like mad. Between that and school, I’ll keep working on Summer Rush. As long as I get 50k on California Girl within March, I’ll be satisfied, even if it’s utter crap.

Here’s something random.

What Music I’m Listening To:

Perfect – Pink
Most Girls – Pink
There You Go – Pink
Get Over It – Avril Lavigne
The Best Damn Thing – Avril Lavigne
Pretty Girl Rock – Keri Hilson
No Air – Jordin Sparks
King of Anything – Sara Bareilles
Battlefield – Jordin Sparks
Heartless – Kanye West
Bleeding Love – Leona Lewis
Don’t Deserve You – Amanda Perez
Funhouse – Pink
Time of My Life – BEPs

7 thoughts on “March Madness

  1. I’m just about done with my current W.I.P and my other project is at a standstill so I might take this March Madness challenge. Maybe I can jumpstart my brain cells. I do have a lot of ideas waiting their turn to be written.

Leave a Reply

