life · writing

Currently on Step #5

Spring break is officially over. Darn. I got so much done, but also so little. I watched too many movies, ate too many brownies and too much ice cream, got lots and lots of marvelous sleep, read, wrote – it was an awesome, restful, restoring week.

But, as to writing…

I’m on Step #5 right now. I printed out Summer Rush yet again, this time with all the scenes arranged in the new order. Actually, it isn’t the entire book. I took it to OfficeMax to have it printed, and apparently the guy who did it didn’t know what he was doing, because the last 80 or so pages got cut off. I didn’t even notice until I got hom. But oh well. That’s besides the point.

So, I printed out SR and had it bound so I can carry it around in my purse and work on it whenever I have some free time. The purpose of this reading is to find what needs to be changed so the scenes fit together properly, and see if the pacing is right. I think I’ve got it right this time, so this is mainly for fitting the scenes together right.

By the time I’m done, I’m going to know SR inside out, upside down, and outside in. Right now I’m still not satisfied with chapter one. It’s missing something that I can’t quite put my finger on.

Step #6 is to make chapter breaks, so I’ve lumped that step in with #5. If all goes according to plan, I’ll be able to start Step #7 on the seventeenth. That’s the major step, in which I start editing chapter-by-chapter with a fine tooth comb. I’m starting to think I might not make my April 15 deadline! Hopefully all will go well. Keep your finers crossed.

On that note, I’ve got about 14,000 words on my March Madness projects. I’ve been all over the place with that; most of the writing occurred on The Angel Virus; that story has gone absolutely wild. I just threw a psychic into the mix, along with the clone, the mutant, and the cyborg.

So much to do, so little time!

2 thoughts on “Currently on Step #5

    1. I’ve always been terrible about outlines. I ramble too much, and branch off in a dozen different directions at once. The chaos is easier to deal with and makes more sense to me when confined to just my brain ^^

Leave a Reply

