life · writing

“Knights, New Plan!”

I know I can’t be the only one this happens to. Brain overload. Major one. Everything that needs to get done abruptly converges on my mind and sends me into a frazzled, panicky state. Solutions are things of daydreams. Calm is as elusive as an Olympic gold medal. The simplest task becomes too hard to even imagine doing. The only thing I want to do is curl up in bed, turn up the music loud, and pretend the world doesn’t exist.

I don’t get overwhelmed easily, and it’s usually nothing that a good night’s rest and a therapeutic room-cleaning can’t fix. But, occasionally, I get hit by a brick wall of frustration that drops me in my tracks. Kind of like now.

Okay, so I’m struggling with a history assignment, I’m supposed to be writing a speech, my English assessment is on Wednesday, I have no idea what to get my sister for her birthday, there’s no way on earth Summer Rush will be finished by its deadline, my room is atrocious, my head is killing me, I have a thousand library books to read, my sleeping schedule is all messed up – no big deal, right?

Honestly, it’s not. On the grander scale of the world, my problems don’t even register as a blimp. At least I have a room to be messy. At least I have school to be struggling with. I’m an incredibly blessed girl, no matter how much I want to bang my head against the wall sometimes.

And so, in the lovely words of Lord Farquaad, “Knights, new plan!”

I need the magic word: Chillax. I need to chill. I need to close my eyes, lean my head back, and just rest for a minute. There will always be issues to deal with, and the stuff I’m attempting to cram into my day certainly isn’t going anywhere in the space of a minute. My current way of doing things needs a makeover; a new plan.

So, I’ll keep struggling with that history assignment until I figure it out. I’ll move Summer Rush’s deadline a week or two. I’ll get up early and clean my room, or sacrifice my TV time. And when my room is clean, the assignment is finished, and Summer Rush is back on track, I can be calm again.

Just writing out my plan is therapeutic, really. I feel calmer now. Rant over! ^_^

3 thoughts on ““Knights, New Plan!”

  1. I feel this way almost every night as I make a list of things I need to get done the next day. Ok, maybe not quite wanting to crawl under the covers kind of feeling. But I still get a little stressed nearly every night.
    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

