life · writing

I Think I’m Going to Make It

I actually like deadlines (not when they’re overdue, though) for my writing. I like having the big scary thing looming over my head, because it gives the project a much bigger sense of urgency, and I’ll be more likely to get my lazy booty into gear and get writing done. At the same time, though, even if the deadline passes and I haven’t finished, nothing’s going to happen.

Oh, I might slap myself – you’d be surprised how hard I can slap myself; I made my eyes water once – or wallow, or skip ice cream after dinner. But no true consequences occur. I’m going to have to change that.

All of this talk about missing deadlines aside, I really think I’m going to make my April 15 deadline! Yay! There have been some technical difficulties that I won’t bore you with the details of. And for some reason, every time I proofread, I find that I missed some commas. My English teacher has this minor obsession with commas, and I think it’s starting to rub off on me.

It’s about that time where I must surrender my beloved Summer Rush to the scrutinous eyes of my sisters. They’ve never read more than one or two sentences of the entire project before, so saying I’m sort of nervous would be the understatement of the year.

But, no matter what happens, at least the first four chapters of Summer Rush will be reposted on Inkpop.com on April 15. Eeek. Just saying that makes me excited. Lol.

I need to get back to work.

One thought on “I Think I’m Going to Make It

Leave a Reply

