writing

Jenna and an Acceptance Speech

I’m getting way into all this characterization stuff. But it’s a ton of fun, and I’ll probably still be exploring my characters even after Summer Rush is finished. When Summer Rush was still up on Inkpop, I found it interesting that so many people loved the character of Jenna Ventura. Personally, Jenna was always a favorite character of mine as well. I don’t know why, and I don’t know why anybody else liked her, either.

As I’m sure you can tell Jenna has been the character of the week. This girl is really fascinating. She’s bossy, and irritable, flamboyant and dramatic. Her favorite color is pink, and she hates parking next to Lexi’s car because the two colors – bright purple and neon pink – clash horrendously.

You know the funniest thing about Jenna? She almost didn’t make it into the novel. In the very beginning, before I’d gotten very far into writing, the only mention of Jenna would have been “my school’s own queen beeotch, Jenna,” and she never would have gotten even the dignity of a last name. Thank goodness she stuck around! If I’d ditched her and kept Mallory, I would have lost all faith in my ability to create decent characters.

I can’t believe the day after tomorrow is Summer Rush’s re-debut. I looked over the review that I got from HarperCollins all those long months ago (three and a half; has it really only been that long???) and I can’t help wondering what they’d think of the final product. I’ll probably never know, but that doesn’t bother me at all. I started this rewrite because I wanted it to be shiny and pretty for everybody who had read and enjoyed it. Once I hit my usual bumps of boredom and inspiration for other things, I kept going because I’d gotten an amazing thing – a read from an editor at a big time publisher – and I didn’t want to be a flaky writer who couldn’t finish what she’d started. Right now I’m still slogging through because I want to: I want to make this book the best it can be. I want to make it beautiful. I want to have a finished novel that I can be proud of.

Not by any means am I in the final stretch, and I have no doubt that I’ll need to come up with other means of inspiration to keep myself moving forward. But it’s comforting to know that it’s possible, that I can do it, and that a whole bunch of people on Inkpop had enough faith in me to kick my butt into the top five.

This sounds like an acceptance speech. ^_^ On a lighter, random note, has anybody ever had to actually give an acceptance speech?

Leave a Reply

