life · writing

Books I Want to Write

I like making lists all of a sudden. I’ve always liked making lists, but for some reason, school has made me love writing lists even more than I usually do. That said, obviously another list is on the way!

There are a lot of books that I want to write, but I’m only going to give you the top three. The list is always changing, because I’m always coming up with new ideas. These are my ultimate ideas for the right now. They’ll probably be different by tomorrow.

3) Hurricane Brecker. The title doesn’t really fit the novel at all, but it’s been there ever since I first started writing this story. It stars a young girl named Brecker. She’s sixteen and sort of the mom of the house in a family of eight.

Brecks, as she’s been nicknamed, has to try to keep her family together while dealing with the emotional baggage that resulted from her two best friends killing her boyfriend four years ago. She gets some help from some unlikely places.

2) Where They Let the Children Cry. I actually wrote a very, very rough draft of this novel in 2008. It wasn’t easy. I was a fourteen-year-old trying to write through the POV of a father.

The main character, Mike, has a nemesis in the man who killed his father. Nobody can ever seem to find the man, but that won’t be a problem for long, because he’s coming back for Mike’s daughter.

1) Artist. This novel has sat in the back of my mind for so long. I know I’m lionizing it just because I can’t figure it out, but I really want to know the story behind it.

The MC is Artist, the daughter of a famous movie producer, younger sister to a movie star, and twin sister to platinum recording artist. But in spite of all her different options, she likes to sit in her room and paint her nails. That’s all. Besides that, I know another character – Paul Bellman – and that’s it.

I sort of have grand plans for all of these books, especially WTLtCC. It’s been simmering on the stove of inspiration for a long time now, and I love the plot – it’s much more developed than it sounds, I promise. In Hurricane Brecker, I identify with the main character so much that I can’t imagine not telling her story.

Sigh.

I really, really miss writing.

Leave a Reply

