Books · writing

Revision & Self-Editing by James Scott Bell

I at last finished reading Revision & Self-Editing yesterday afternoon. I bought it weeks ago, back before finals even started, but I wasn’t able to give it my undivided attention until just recently.

Overall? This book is fascinating, and I absolutely loved it (I’m beginning to think I’m extremely easy to please). There are few books on the writing craft that I don’t love, but this one really broke things down in exactly the way that I needed for the writing stage that I’m at.

It’s part of the Write Great Fiction series, and I plan to get all the books. But, this book kind of covers everything in the whole series in regards to how to fine-tune it for the finished draft.

My sister has been banging her head against a rock over the novel she wrote for NaNoWriMo, so I’m passing this book onto her. Hopefully it’ll help her!

It definitely gave me some ideas about how to straighten out a lot of things in Summer Rush, and my train wreck of a mind has already leaped ahead, planning on how to incorporate my new knowledge into all of my other writing projects.

If you haven’t read this book, you should, especially if you’re in the revision/editing stage. Off you go to library or bookstore or wherever you get your books from! Shoo.

2 thoughts on “Revision & Self-Editing by James Scott Bell

Leave a Reply

