writing

The Novel Turning Point

The inconceivable, the impossible, had almost happened: I had almost gotten rid of Rush.

And that scared the hell out of me.

– Summer Rush

When I got my critique for Summer Rush from HarperCollins, there was a particular suggestion the editor gave me that I used as the central piece of my editing efforts. So, with a lot of thinking and lip-biting, I started planning the new layout of my novel, all with the intention of everything leading up to this pivotal moment, when Lexi gets her epiphany.

Today, I got to that scene.

What can I say? It was catharsis. It was heavenly. I practically squealed with pure glee. Leading into it, I was sure it would be a rocky-hard scene to write, but it wasn’t.

Granted, the writing took more time than it usually takes me to write 1,000 words. But the words came easily, and they actually made sense. Of course this would lead to this, and this to that.  There’s so much editing to be done to the scene, but I’m in love with it already.

The whole time I’ve been rewriting this novel, I’ve been thinking about this scene, and wondering how it would turn out, if it would really make sense, if Lexi would come across too harsh – a thousand different, not unwarranted worries that cartwheeled through my head during the course of the day.

It’s funny how things are never as scary as they seemed. That bridge you needed to cross isn’t as rickety and as ancient as you first thought now that you’re actually walking on it.

I’m about two-thirds of the way through with rewriting now. I’ve still got fingers and toes crossed that I’ll actually get this monster finished before the end of the month, with just six more days to go. I think I can, I think I can. Sorry, I just had to toss that in there.

Honestly, I’m not sure whether this post is an exhortation or celebration. I’m ecstatic that I’ve reached this point. I’m out of my mind with glee that I’ve crossed one of the big mountains standing between me and my finish line.

And I’m curious. What was the big turning point for your characters in whatever writing you’ve done? Or what will it be, if you haven’t gotten there yet?

2 thoughts on “The Novel Turning Point

  1. How exciting! I’m so close to reaching STARSONG’s “pivotal moment” but lately it’s been a little tough. I’ll get there when I get there. But congrats on almost completing your rewrite! Heres hoping you finish by the end of the month!
    =)

    1. I’m beginning to think I’ll never make that deadline, so I’ll probably end up giving myself an extension at the last minute ^^

      Good luck with STARSONG!

Leave a Reply

