Uncategorized

New Stories While Rewriting

In these past three or four days, I’ve had eight or nine ideas for new books. I scribble them down on sticky notes or my day planner or whatever happens to be nearby, and I force myself to continue working on Summer Rush.

I want this novel done, so I’ve attempted to eliminate all the possible distractions.

Now I’m beginning to think, am I going about this all wrong? Don’t get me wrong: I’m still having a blast rewriting Summer Rush, and it would take a lot to distract me from it, anyway.

But now I’m thinking that it might be a good idea to have two projects just for creative diversity in case I do get bored.

Plus, it’s good to have multiple irons on the stove, isn’t it? I’ve been considering all these things mainly because of all the new ideas I’ve had, and how badly I want to start writing them.

As it stands, I don’t think I put enough time into writing, especially when taking into account all the free time I have since I’m out of school. With that thought, it’d probably be doubly good for me to have another project.

I admit, I do miss just sitting down and writing out all my fabulous ideas. So I believe I will go out on this new limb and see if I can handle this, in spite of my notoriously bad time-management skills.

Okay, fess up. I know some of you have to be rewriting one thing while working on another idea. How long have you been doing it and how is it working out for you? Any tips?

3 thoughts on “New Stories While Rewriting

  1. Ooh! You should totally do this! (Though I must admit I’m shocked that your brain hasn’t imploded yet.) You’re spot-on about the whole creative diversity thing. STARSONG–which I’m in the process of re-writing–is an urban fantasy, while DEVASTATE–the new project I started working on last month–is a dystopia. Quite frankly, writing dystopian fiction is such a blast. Better than writing about our little modern world. It’s fun to take a break from the norm.
    And yes, I freak myself out by often times forgetting about STARSONG and making DEVASTATE my top priority. It’s not too fun.
    But I think you should do this. It’s really great lol
    =)

    1. I’m definitely going for it. I just need to decide which of my numerous percolating ideas to start with! It’s been so long since I was in the plotting stage. It’s going to be fun to get back to it. =)

      I think urban fantasy is my new favorite genre, but it’s hard for me to find good books in it. Got any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

