life · writing

Writing Places

I love writing for a lot of different reasons. But one of them is that I have the ability to pack up Tasha (my laptop, for those of you who don’t know), my red pencils, my hard copy, and take off to any place I want. The tools of my trade are lightweight and easy to travel with. So I end up writing in a lot of different places.

My favorite place to write is in my dad’s new leather recliner – it has cup holders and everything, and I can even take an impromptu nap if such a desire arises – but there are lots of other places that I’ve parked Tasha and myself to get a few good words in.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you…

Julie Gabrielle Anne’s Top Five Fun Places to Write

5. The trampoline. My family has a full-sized, round trampoline that sits in the middle of our backyard. It gets hot as all get-out during the summer, so I lie on my stomach and type away, while Tasha and the trampoline and myself are all reaching insanely hot temperatures.

4. A book fair. Any book fair will do, but the bigger the better. All the people, and the scent of books, is intoxicating. It’ll probably be hard to find a place to park yourself, but it will be worth it if you. Whenever I get stuck, all I have to do is look up – there are hundreds of people for inspiration all around.

3. The riding stables. This one is a no-brainer if you’re writing something concerning horses. Obviously, don’t do this if you have horse allergies. But the atmosphere in a stable is hard to beat. And, bonus, you can talk to the horses if you get bored.

2. The gym. I prefer gymnastics centers, but normal work-out gyms work, too. Seeing all these people working out around you is a great motivator, even if all you’re “working” is your fingers.

1. The car. Clearly, do not do this one if you’re the driver. But if you have a chance to be the passenger and you won’t get carsick, go for it. Think about it. You’re stuck in a car with nothing to do but write. There’s nowhere to escape to. Put on your headphones, fire up the laptop (you’d better have charged the batteries), and see how many words you can get written before you reach your destination.

So… where do you like to write?

2 thoughts on “Writing Places

  1. TRAMPOLINE! I LOVE THOSE! haha (O love the new theme btw)

    I like to write on my bed and in my back yard next to the pool, but not too close! ;D

Leave a Reply

