life · School · Uncategorized · writing

Goals: June

May is behind us, and June has arrived.

I don’t know about anyone else, but I’m starting to feel the return of school sneaking up on me. Ugh. *Eloquent shudder* I just looked up the exact date and saw that it’s August 27, so I still have some time. That said, I want to make sure I use every second that I can to its utmost. It’s time for to-do lists!

Right before we get to that, however: an overview of May.

May was a busy month. The first three days of it were my last three days of school, and I was floundering in finals for the duration. It was awful. I shudder to remember; I’m not even kidding. But my teachers were fabulous, I learned a lot, and I’m insanely glad that freshman year is behind me.

I know none of you have forgotten that I finished Draft 2 of Summer Rush! Yay! It’s a relief to have that behind me, too, because now I can get on to the fun part – Draft 3. Completely overhauling a novel is new turf for me. I enjoyed it, for the most part. There were a few nights where I literally banged my head against my desk and despaired of ever finishing the dratted thing.

Also, and this is among the top three of things I really enjoyed this month, I finally started volunteering at Saddle Up! Riding Stables. The entire atmosphere at the stables is intoxicatingly happy, and it kind of makes me want to whip out my old horse novel that I never finished editing.

As fabulous as May was, I’m looking forward to June, because I have so many great things planned.

For starters, my dad and I are going to watch the movie Thor this afternoon. This is totally unrelated to anything, but I love going to the movies, and I’ve been looking forward to seeing this one.

I’ve broken down my to-do list into three categories: blogging, writing, and Murray State University (because hardly a day goes by when I’m not plotting how to get accepted into my beloved MSU).

Under blogging I have:

  1. Blog every day
  2. Comment on more blogs
  3. Brainstorm home school blog (for my mom)
  4. Do an interview
  5. Find at least 5 new blogs to read
And under writing:
  1. Write Summer Rush draft 3
  2. Participate in June Flash Fiction Challenge (more about that when I actually get the challenge!)
  3. Brainstorm Angel book 1
  4. Start writing Summer Rush’s query letter
  5. Continue helping B with her novel
  6. Read at least 5 novels
  7. Start editing Snow and Loving Sara Brighton
Finally, under MSU:
  1. Visit MSU campus
  2. Register at CSCC for Fall 2011
  3. Find requirements for MSU transfers
  4. Find at least 5 scholarships I’m eligible for
  5. Research MSU Honors Program

I want to get into the Honors Program so bad I can almost taste it. It’s getting to the point where I wake up in the middle of the night thinking about it. Yeah, I’m that pathetic.

Anyway, with all these fun goals to work towards, I know I’m going to be busy. My cousin is graduating this weekend, so I’m using it as an excuse to go shopping. And, I got the book Die For Me by Amy Plum, so I get to read that. I’ve heard good things about it. I’m very curious.
What’re everybody’s plans for June?
5 thoughts on “Goals: June

  1. Good luck with all your goals! I must say, you have an excellent and very mature writing style. And to have already written a novel, no matter how many drafts remain, that is an amazing achievement, congratulations! I’m yet to get well into mine, but my spider senses are tingling, which means I don’t think it will be long before I am!
    I’d be interested in hearing what you think of Thor…I saw it last week and thought it was great, especially for a fantasy film. Although, perhaps a little rushed with the love story? Chris Hemsworth is a bit of eye candy though, and an Aussie (woo!)!

    1. Thor was much better than I thought it would. Asgard was so gorgeous to look at, particularly in 3D. I loved Chris Hemsworth. He was so funny when he’d just come to Earth.

      The love story was definitely rushed, but I’ll cut the makers some slack for that, since they had so much to try and get in with just barely two hours. I do wish there’d been a bit more characterization with Loki, because he’s such a bigger than life character in the old stories that I’ve read.

      But, overall, I loved the movie, and I’ll be buying it when it comes out on DVD.

  2. Oh wow, you’re busy! But it’s really cool how have your goals all planned out and ready to go. Kind of inspiring, really.
    Since my school gets out next Friday, I think I’m just devoting my summer to finish the dang second draft of STARSONG, reading a ton more books, and memorizing all of my material for AP English. FUN.
    =)

Leave a Reply

