writing

On Different Points of View

I’ve been having a bit of trouble with my Gmail account lately, but I managed to get into last night, and I found an interesting article in the newsletter that I get from K.M Weiland. It was about different points of view, and making sure you’d chosen the right one to tell your story.

Now, I’m over a hundred percent certain that I’ve chosen the right point of view – Lexus – for Summer Rush. But I decided to try my hand at writing one of my novel’s scenes in a different POV, just for kicks. Naturally, I chose Rush, the leading male role in the novel.

All I can say is: wow. In one thousand words, I got further into Rush’s head than I ever have in any other character exercise. The scene was written in first person, because that’s what I’m most comfortable with, so I got a bird’s eye view of all Rush’s thoughts and actions.

One thing I noticed is that Rush is far more observant than Lexus. The guy notices everything. It felt so natural to write from his view, even as I was learning all these different things. It was interesting, and it was nice to sort of get a confirmation that I know his character – and could write it – as well as I thought I did.

I know Lexus is still the right main character for this novel, but I know this little exercise is going to help. I’ll probably end up doing it a couple of more times, with different characters and different scenes, for a number of different reasons.

First, it turned the tables on Lexus and made me look at her in a totally different light. Granted, Rush is really fond of Lexus, and usually let’s her bratty behavior slide. But I now know that, while Lexus is intended to be on the selfish side in the beginning of the novel, I have to be very careful to temper that with her better side, or else risk people disliking her.

Second, this really stretches your knowledge of your characters. I think I could write the novel realistically from Rush’s point of view – but what about Lexus’s friend, Tasha, or James? If I know all those characters well enough to write a book about them, I definitely know enough to make them 3D entities for Lexus’s novel!

It was fun to see my setting of Lincoln, California, as well as my main character, through a fresh pair of eyes. I won’t have much time to try this again for a bit, as I’m attempting to get the last of my edits typed up on the computer before this weekend. But I’ll let you know how it goes!

5 thoughts on “On Different Points of View

  1. K.M. Weilend! Carrie, my crit. partner knows her! She has proof read her manuscripts before and everything! Love love love her, and her blog! Gee, small world!

    1. Great blogs get seen by a lot of people 🙂

      I love the new look her blog has! It’s a little less overwhelming. The first time I saw the original one I was like 0.0 WHERE TO START? Haha

Leave a Reply

