life

I Was Going to Write a Helpful Post

But then I thought – hey, it’s Sunday! It’s a day of rest, for both mind and body. Plus, I couldn’t think of anything helpful to post. I have plans for future posts, but nothing that can be written up right now, and I want to get this done right now.

With that said, I’m just going to write about what’s happened lately, like my cousin, Ariel’s, graduation. It was yesterday afternoon, and the family braved the blistering hot weather to trek to the church where the ceremony was being held. Graduations are a big deal, of course, but they’re doubly big deals in our family.

Everybody comes together, the insanely high heels come out, the boys put on sharp suits and ties, cameras flash madly. It’s a wonderful time, and I had dibs on my sister’s camera for today. I was snapping pictures left and right, and I’m thinking about making a collage, not just of this graduation, but of all the past graduations in our family.

Last night, I drove all the siblings over to my sister’s apartment, and we hung out there (probably overstayed our welcome by way much ^^). I got some good writing done there, because they all went swimming and I got the apartment all to myself for about an hour or so.

I’ve started reading the book Incarceron by Catherine Fisher. And by “started” I really only mean the first ten pages or so. I think it’s going to be interesting.

About two days ago I read Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen. This won’t be a proper review by any means, but I’ll just share my thoughts on it. Overall, I enjoyed the book. But it wasn’t one of the best I’ve ever read, not by a long shot. I felt a bit dissatisfied at the end, like the story was unfinished. I liked most of the characters. I probably won’t read it again, and I doubt I’ll recommend it to anyone. However, I’m going to continue reading other Sarah Dessen books, just in case I’m missing something.

I haven’t started reading Die for Me yet, but I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Congratulations if you read all the way through this lame post to get to this sentence! You are the winner!

No, I’m kidding. There’s nothing to win – not unless you consider a hint about my new project a prize. Hold your breath, because here it comes…

“I’m going to go away,” I said, “and you know I’m never coming back.” Mum reached for my hand, but I pulled back. “You knew it. You knew it ever since you married Daddy. The eldest daughter. That’s how it’s supposed to be.”

Mum’s bottom lip trembled.

I stood up. “I’m going to go. Tell Daddy I said goodbye.”

I’m still in the plotting stages but, as usual, I had to jump ahead and write a couple of scenes! I’m pretty excited about this idea. It’s a new path for me, so we’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

