writing

I Am Collaborating

For only the second time in my life, I am attempting to collaborate on a story. My friend, Ryley, and I are writing a superhero slash urban fantasy story which involves, dun dun dun, the human heart in a box that I mentioned a week or two ago. We’ve only been working on it for about a week.

The first thing I’ve learned about myself through this collaborating process is that I am a selfish writer. A very selfish writer. I don’t want to compromise on anything. The moment Ryley wants to do something a certain away, my hackles go up. It’s really pathetic.

My first experience with collaboration was years ago, when my sister, Elizabeth, and I decided to write a story together. There was a little snippet of a story that I started writing in Notepad that we both liked, so we started with that.

I wrote a sentence. She wrote a sentence. There was no plot (which explains why it was the most generic story in the world) but we had a fabulous time. Eventually we changed to writing paragraphs in turn, and we started developing characters with proper families, and a proper villain.

After awhile, we sat down and started working on a decent plot. Surprisingly, we worked great together, and the story progressed rapidly. But, after awhile, the fact that our plot sucked caught up to us, and we quit the story.

For some reason, this collaboration with Ryley isn’t going so well. I think I’ve gotten bossier. Or maybe the fact that there’s a real plot (more or less; we’re still working on it!). I’d better get my butt in gear and be nice, because I do love this project, and I can’t do it by myself.

2 thoughts on “I Am Collaborating

  1. Ha I know what you mean! My crit partner and I have discussed doing a colab. but I think I would get too bossy. I’m kind of a control freak! LOL good luck with your story though.

Leave a Reply

