life · writing

Trying New Things

For the longest time, I thought the only type of writing I would ever do was novels. I couldn’t write a short story for the life of me, poems were far out of my league, and nonfiction just wasn’t any fun to me. Let’s not even mention writing songs – I cringe to think of my attempts at that.

Deciding to start a blog was a big step for me. Granted, I had no idea what I was doing and no idea what I was going to write about. But just the thought of writing something besides a novel was daunting.

It’s going on a year that I’ve had this blog, and I’ve tried some new writing things since then: flash fiction, short stories (longish short stories; but hey, I’m working on it!), and even creative nonfiction.

Blogging, and meeting and interacting with other bloggers, has stretched my writing horizons farther than I ever could have myself.

While I was considering my to-do list for the month of July, I started thinking about all the things I’ve been wanting to try.

  1. Serial novel
  2. eBook
  3. Juvenile fiction
  4. Guest blogging
  5. Interviews

There’s so many different things that I could try; I really don’t know what to do first. I know all of these things look shinier and more fabulous than ever before because I’m avoiding my WIP, but still. It’s kind of exciting.

I’ve been planning on interviewing my sister, Dominique-Alexis, because I think it’s amazing that a sixteen-year-old can create a whole website on her own like she did. Even if her focus is hair and braiding, she’s still a writer. She started out writing novels!

Ever since somebody told me that one of my books was like watching a TV show, I’ve been fascinated with the idea of writing a serial novel. How fun could that be?

As I said, I don’t know what I’m going to do first. But interviewing somebody is definitely on my list for July! I haven’t the faintest idea what I’d write an eBook about, but that’s high up on my list as well.

We’ll see what happens. Oh, and if you want to be interviewed or want to suggest somebody, leave a comment or email me (thatgirlgabrielle AT live DOT com).

Who else is trying new things, writing or otherwise?

6 thoughts on “Trying New Things

  1. I’m studying Creative Writing at university, and until I started my undergraduate course, I was in the same position as you, in that I had never considered writing anything but fiction, particularly novels. Over the last two years, it has led me to try my hand at non-fiction, poetry, screenwriting and even playwriting. I started blogging a month ago and now I love it! It’s helped me to concentrate on writing regularly and made me realise that there are lots of ways to indulge my love of writing. Good luck with your to-do list! 🙂

    1. Blogging has been a huge help to me by, basically, forcing me to write every single day. Even if I don’t pull out my novel or read my how-to books, I’ll get my blog post done. Not to mention it’s just all around fabulous fun 🙂

  2. Yeah, blogging certainly expands a writers horizons. I never thought I’d write anything but novels too, and now i’ve written a short story, blogged about a billion things, and even took a trip into poetry 😀

    PS: If you can’t find anyone else willing to be interviewed i’ll take a turn in the hot seat. HAHA

    Good luck with all your new ventures!
    -Ally

Leave a Reply

