writing

Summer Rush Draft Four

I am so behind with editing SR. I really don’t know what’s up with me. I pulled it out today and took it to the gym with me, but I’m at a loss of what to do with it. And I started out so well.

But I’ve realized something. It’s a small thing, but it’s cheered me up somewhat. This isn’t draft 3. It’s really draft 4. I was editing as I wrote chapters, so I basically wrote the first and second drafts at the same time. Then I wrote the third draft in May, and now I’m onto the 4th.

I’m hoping that, because this is draft 4, that’s the reason I’m foundering – it’s getting close to the place where I’ve done all I can without a fresh pair of eyes helping me out. My older sister is reading SR currently, and I’ve got my fingers crossed for helpful feedback from her once she’s finished.

There’s a big change I’m thinking about making to the plot, and I’m having trouble deciding exactly how to do it, or if I even should do it. It wouldn’t be a serious rewrite, but there’d be some hefty work involved.

So many options. Only one novel.

But I’m determined to write this complete 4th draft before the end of this month. No more slacking! It will get done. After this draft, I will completely surrender it to all of my sisters, the faithful B, and all beta readers I can find, and they’ll find all the things I’ve missed.

All of this having been said, it was nice to read through the few chapters I read today and see how much everything’s improved since that first draft. There are still places that make me cringe, but those spots are getting fewer and farther between.

That’s something to be cheerful about!

But enough of my moaning and griping. How’re your projects coming?

2 thoughts on “Summer Rush Draft Four

  1. Mostly i’m ‘rethinking’ BTE, mapping out what draft two will look like, doing character background (you know with all the prompts) and generally just thinking. I started CARVE, but BTE feels alot more important to me right now… hmmm, i suppose we’ll see how it all turns out.

    Good luck with SR editing!

    PS: O.o sign me up for beta reading SR!

    1. I’m used to finishing a project’s first draft then dumping it and moving on to the next one. So this urge to edit things is sort of stumping me. Haha.

      Good luck to you, too!

      Thanks! I will 🙂

Leave a Reply

