Challenges · writing

A Prompt: Just Die Already

Dreams can tell us a lot about what’s going on in our characters subconscious. What they’re most scared of, what they feel even when they won’t reveal it themselves. Write a reoccurring dream that your character has, it can be a good dream, or a nightmare, just make sure to reveal something about your characters inner most feelings/thoughts. 

Prompt courtesy of Ally!

Today’s character is Angel of The Monster. We’re all pretty familiar with her by now, I’m sure 🙂

At first, I was all by myself. I stood in the dark, listening to the low, gentle sound of waves on sand. My palms were slick with sweat, and the cool barrel of my gun pressed against my fingers. I was shaking; trying hard not to, but shaking nevertheless.

I took a deep breath and wiped my hands on my jeans.

Suddenly, I wasn’t alone.

“Are you ready, Angel?”

He stood on my right. In the darkness I could just make out his profile. In his left hand he held his gun. On my left, she stood. She was bristling with fury and her ears were pricked so hard the tips touched.

“You ready for this?” she whispered.

I tucked my straggly hair behind my ear. “Ready as I’ll ever be.”

“Let’s go.”

We moved together. Her feet squeaked on the wet grass. He was quiet, but I was silent. We reached the wall, surged up and over it without breaking stride. My palms slashed against the barbed wire on top of the stone. It hurt, and I could feel blood trickling down my inner wrist as I landed lightly on the opposite side.

“You okay?”

I ignored the question. Did it even matter? If I was hurt, would I stop? They both knew the answer to that. No way on earth.

Ahead of us, a thousand little red lines crisscrossed across the grass.

She stopped. She couldn’t make it and she knew it. He stopped, too, and they both looked at me. “Stay here,” I said softly. I didn’t wait for their protests.

I took a deep breath and jumped. My hands landed perfectly inside the first little red square. I shoved off. The landing was on one leg. Pain shot up through my shins at the short landing. I aerialed into motion.

“Angel,” she hissed. “You can’t go in there alone!”

I was on the other side. I saluted them both and kept going. One more wall. I cut myself again, this time on a sharp stone. Ahead of me the building loomed. I found the door. Yards and yards of chain wrapped around the door bar. Three minutes, and it was open. I ran soundlessly into the building, down a hall, turned a corner. It was dark and cold but I could hear him. I could hear him breathing.

I’m over here.

Then I was there, in the prison unit. I pressed my hand against the DNA reader and the door slid open.

“Freeze!”

There was the sharp retort of a gun, and I felt pain in the back of my head. I staggered, stumbling against the wall. The darkness grew even more complete as I slumped to the floor.

“Don’t fight, Angel,” a voice whispered. “Just die already.”

Thanks again, Ally!

2 thoughts on “A Prompt: Just Die Already

Leave a Reply

