writing

Biting the Bullet

I like deadlines. I like the sense of urgency they lend to a writing project that, in reality, I could take forever to finish and it wouldn’t matter. But Summer Rush and I are having trouble decided which deadlines are important, and which I should brush off.

The end of this month was when I was supposed to have draft four done. Of thirty chapters, I’ve got six done. At this point, trying to finish just might make my brain implode, or kill me, or both in that order.

It’s officially become time to bite the bullet.

There’s little on this earth that I’d want to do less than pull out my ginormous three-ring binder and face three hundred pages of words that need editing. But the time has come. If I avoid it any longer, then there’ll really be a problem. It’ll become a “someday” project.

And so, in my novel and my best interests, it’s time to re-plan, re-prioritize, and do a little BICHOK (butt-in-chair, hands-on-keyboard) writing. With ten days left in this month, I honestly don’t think I could rewrite the entire book in that time. I’ve done some similar marathon-like writing, and it’s draining. With a bunch of other stuff demanding my attention, it’s not worth it to go through that headache.

BUT. I can go most of the way. If I can get twenty chapters into fourth draft state before the end of the month, I’ll be happy. I already have six done, although the sixth one is one crap-kicking piece of writing, and the other fourteen chapters aren’t going to require complete rewriting like number six did.

I have a plan in my head, so it’s time to put it to the test and see how well it translates to paper. I can always comfort myself by saying I can fix further mistakes in drafts five and six. 🙂

Honestly, I won’t be worried until I’m on draft ten and still saying that. Haha.

3 thoughts on “Biting the Bullet

Leave a Reply

