life · writing

It Is August

I love the month of August. I was born in August, and so was my biggest sister. August is when fabulous school starts. August has a really pretty picture of a Paso Fino on my horse calendar.

August is the month I write the next draft of Summer Rush! Whoo!

Ahem. So, my impromptu break from posting is officially over. I have tons of interesting (I think it’s interesting, anyway) stuff that I’ll be posting soon, like my miniseries on staying motivated and getting ideas with writing, and an interview with Ally, stuff I’ve learned in the past couple of weeks at Thomas Nelson, and… drum roll please… chapter one of Summer Rush Draft Five!

Oh, you’re not excited? Don’t worry. You will be 😉

July Novel Writing Month is over, of course. I wrote a grand total of 21,000 words on The Hell God. It’s not my worst effort, but it’s certainly not my best. Either way, I’m happy with what I wrote, and I think that it’s going to be a good story when it’s finished.

For August, I’m going to try to keep posting every day, but with school coming up, that probably won’t happen. So my aim is to post three or four times a week.

I’m going to try to keep writing every day. If I write a chapter of Summer Rush every day for the whole month, then I’ll have draft five done easily by the 31st, which would be awesome.

I have lots and lots of good books to read (Wolfsbane, Wither, The Iron King, The Luxe) so I might have to actually do some book reviews this month, too 🙂

Yesterday I saw Captain America with my sister. As with the other Marvel movies that I’ve watched, it wasn’t fabulous, but it was pretty good. I liked it a lot, but it wasn’t as cool as Thor (WHEN IS THAT COMING OUT ON DVD? GAH! I CAN’T WAIT MUCH LONGER!).

The romance element of the story was horribly rushed, and I didn’t even like the girl. But I’d rather have action and peril than time spent on the romantic interest, so whatever. It’s all good.

RISE OF THE PLANET OF THE APES is coming out soon! Squee! I’m a diehard Planet of the Apes fan, so I’m very excited about that. If I wouldn’t be stuck in a car driving eight hours to my grandparents’ house on the day the movie came out, I’d so be at the theater for the first showing.

ANYWAY.

That’s more than enough gushing about movies. My goals for the month of August are modest. Write Summer Rush 5. Get a good start into school. Post three times a week or more. Read lots of books, have a picnic, and watch an R rated movie in the theater, because I’ll be 18 on the 30th!

When I said that was one of my goals, my mom gave me this look. And I was like, “What? It won’t be a bad R-rated movie.”

What’re your plans for August? What’d you do in July?

Leave a Reply

