life · novels · School · writing

Many Good Things

TODAY IS MY BIRTHDAY! HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME! HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME! HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR GAAABBBYYY….

You really thought I was going to type out the whole song, didn’t you? ^_^

No, I’m satisfied with wearing my birthday tiara all over creation today, and telling random strangers that it’s my eighteenth birthday and I’m very happy about it. It’s a lovely feeling. I like it a lot.

Many good things have happened to me, in fact. Yesterday was my first day of my sophomore year, and it went very well, considering. My sister has a class at nine in the morning, and I don’t have class until four in the afternoon, and we’re both done at nine. So I literally spent twelve hours at school. Not fun.

BUT, the two classes I had yesterday – Arts & Culture and Biology – look like they’re going to be fun. My teachers are interesting, thank goodness. My A&C teacher had the whole classroom laughing and at ease in the first couple of minutes.

Another good thing? I finished my project, THE TIDEMASTER (PROBABLY TO BE RETITLED). That thing has been sitting in my computer since January. It’s about time I finished it off. It cracked me up that the whole thing ended with a natural disaster, because that’s how I used to end all my stories when I was little and got tired of writing them. But this one was intentional, I promise!

AND FINALLY, my plans to tackle DRAFT SIX of Summer Rush. Which I’ll tell you about in a minute, because it’s lunch time. I’ll be right back.

….

….

….

Back. You wouldn’t know it, but fourteen minutes have passed. Anyway, since it took me barely an eighth of the time that I thought it would to finish THE TIDEMASTER, I’m starting on Summer Rush tomorrow!

(I also decided to start early because I was sitting around for hours and hours yesterday, and I would have killed to have my hard copy of Summer Rush with me).

Step one is to do my novel analysis, which I did with draft three and found really helpful. I speed-read through the entire thing and then wrote up two pages, without stopping to think too hard, about how I thought it went. It’s not an outline or even a critique; it’s more like a conversation with myself – which sounds kind of weird, but it works.

Step two will be to give the timeline the scrubbing of its life, making sure all events are in order, see if anything needs to be switched around (PLEASE GOD, I DO NOT WANT TO SWITCH THINGS AROUND AGAIN), and see if there are things that need to be added or removed.

Step three, finding all events in orders, will be to take it chapter by chapter and start fixing individual scenes.

There are other steps, of course, and I may end up changing the order of steps, but this is the plan for now!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!Β (I had to say that one more time.)

Adios, peeps!

9 thoughts on “Many Good Things

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY BRILLIANT WRITER PERSON YOU! :DDDDD
    I WISH YOU THE BEST! YOU ARE NOW LEGAL IN LIKE MONTREAL AND SUCH!!! πŸ˜€ ANOTHER 3 YEARS BEFORE YOU ARE IN THE STATES ^^
    Okay, so I sound hyper, but it’s okay πŸ™‚ Enjoyyyyy, you only get to be eighteen once in your life πŸ˜‰

  2. Happy belated brithday!
    It’s so exciting to read about other writers getting ready to start their newest drafts! And I LOVE the list at the very end. So so so much great little tidbits that I may or may not borrow from.
    Good luck!!!!
    =)

Leave a Reply

