life · writing

Always, Always Learning

Today I bought a pair of really expensive barn boots so my toes won’t turn into popsicles when I brave the elements on Saturday mornings. I’m pretty cheap as people go, so it just about killed me.

BUT, working with horses is what I’ve wanted to do for forever. I’m willing to make some sacrifices for it, especially when I realize how far I’ve come since this time last year.

In that way, my equestrian career is a lot like my writing career. I started out completely blind – the only thing I knew was that this was something I wanted to do, no matter how difficult it might be.

I got dozens and dozens of books from the library about horses, horse care, competition, natural horse care, breeding, writing articles, self-editing, self-publishing, querying, and plot and structure. With writing, I could take a do-it-yourself approach. I wrote a lot, and I joined writing sites like Critique Circle and Inkpop.

But to further my horse career, I had to get my hands on some horses at some point. For me, that point was Saddle Up, and within a couple of weeks of beginning, I’d picked out hooves, tacked up horses, mucked stalls, and quieted a horse that had bolted.

It was a pretty fast-paced learning curve.

Now, I can look back on a lot of what I’ve learned and just grin from pure happiness. I can lead multiple horses without having a panic attack. I can recognize mistakes in my own writing. I can groom and tack up a horse in just a few minutes, and I can write a whole novel chapter in an hour.

But there’s still so much to learn. Far in the future are the days when I can ask a horse to do a flying lead change or write a blog post without rambling.

But that’s kind of the beauty of it, isn’t it? No matter how many years I ride, and no matter how many years I write, things will never get boring.

Leave a Reply

