writing

I Need My Calendar

I don’t have my 2012 calendar yet, and it’s driving me crazy. I like to be able to see all my deadlines and appointments neatly laid out before my eyes. That way I’m sure not to forget anything. When I can’t see the deadline for Ally’s On Thin Ice Flash  Fiction contest, bad things may happen.

Like, I write the first draft and set it on top of a pile of other writing junks… then what was once the top of the pile of writing junks becomes the middle of the pile of writing junks, and things out of sight quickly become out of mind.

Never mind that I have a sticky note with the details and deadline of the contest stuck to my muse (aka, a two foot tall horse statuette that sits on my desk. Pretty spiffy). I have to see it on my calendar or it simply doesn’t register. I NEED MY CALENDAR.

Why don’t you go out and get one? you ask.

Well, it’s really cold outside. And I went to Dollar Tree but they didn’t have one, and by then it was pretty fluffing cold out, and dark, and all I could think of was a cup of hot chocolate and my fuzzy Hello Kitty slippers with the purple trim. And I didn’t want to go to Wal-Mart because their calendars are more expensive and the parking at my neighborhood Wal-Mart is so evil that its akin to the devil.

What choice would you have made? Home and Hello Kitty slippers? That’s what I thought.

I still have my old calendar up, sort of hoping it’ll trick me into thinking that all is right with my calendar-obsessive world. It has a nice picture of a Halflinger stallion and is scribbled all over with a fine point purple Sharpie pen.

I’ve decided that 2012 has not officially started until I have my calendar.

Now, I need to go work on my flash fiction entry.

3 thoughts on “I Need My Calendar

Leave a Reply

