life · writing

Your Writing Community

I’ve been sick in bed for two days, being pathetic and needy as I often am when I don’t feel well. I was miserable, not only because my head was killing me and I was dying for some Ramen Noodle (we were fresh out, thanks to… well, me). I missed my writing peeps.

I’m going to admit freely – the first thing I do when I sit down at my computer is see what new posts are up on all the blogs I follow. It’s great: information about books and writing and the craft and updates on my friends’ lives.

Yes, I’m one of those who care about your dog and your dentist appointments. I hope that doesn’t make me sound like a creeper.

Between blogging, Inkpop, and email (still figuring out Twitter), I am part of a writing community. There are people surrounding me who I can talk to for advice and encouragement, and vice versa.

Granted, (sadly) most of these people will never be more than an avatar image, but that’s not so important. Because through the different avenues, I’ve made a lot of friends, helped and been helped by writers, and learned more about writing, publishing, and books than I could have ever learned by myself.

So, I would just like to thank you guys – all the bloggers, both WordPress and Blogger; people I’ve emailed, younger and older; the awesome Inkpoppers who demanded I keep working on Summer Rush when I might’ve scrapped it; the fierce and brave NaNoWriMo warriors; all the great editors at Thomas Nelson who let me walk around with my mouth hanging open and called it interning; the editor whose name I may never know who critiqued Summer Rush.

It’s a good life when I can call so many of these people my acquaintances, mentors, inspiration, and friends.

Who makes up your writing community? Your dentist? Your mom and sisters? Your dog?

I’m sorry. I just really felt the need to bring up dogs and dentists again.

4 thoughts on “Your Writing Community

    1. I am utterly pathetic when I get sick. I curl up in bed and basically hibernate until I feel better, not even venturing an arm out to grab my iPod or phone to check emails or texts. It’s very sad.

      1. It’s not pathetic, it’s called conserving your energy for getting better 🙂 When I’m sick, it’s nearly as bad. You should see me trying to coax my cats into cuddling with me. It’s probably hilarious if you aren’t me. 🙂

        1. I tried getting my lab to snuggle with me one time. He’s practically as big as my bed, so… not a good idea! I think he crushed a few of my internal organs. Haha.

Leave a Reply

