writing

A Letter

Dear Summer Rush,

I’ve put so many hours into you that I’ve lost count. From the very first sentence I wrote on that fateful day in April, 2010 to where I sit now, pondering our future together, it has been an interesting ride. You’re my favorite of all the stand alone’s that I’ve written.

We’ve come a long way, you and I, and I don’t regret a moment of our journey. You’re all grown up, at least as far as I can take you. I’m sending you off to others now, and they’ll be able to teach us both things that we couldn’t figure out on our own.

Think of it as going off to college for your higher education. The education you’ll get doesn’t provide any guarantees, but it’ll make you a shinier, more beautiful thing to present to agents and editors.

I know it seems harsh, sending you off to be criticized by others, but it’s for both of our own good. You’ll become a better piece of writing for it, and I’ll become a better writer. Maybe because of it you’ll be famous one day, and I’ll have learned a little more so that my next piece of writing can become something fabulous, too.

Tomorrow I’ll be headed off to my second semester of my sophomore year at Columbia State, so it’s only fair you get schooled, too. It’s only because I love you. If I didn’t love you, then you’d be in a dark filing cabinet with The Novel Who Will Not Be Named. Do you want that? Huh? That’s right! Don’t be getting an attitude with me.

I love you very much. Have fun!

Gabs

2 thoughts on “A Letter

  1. That was hilarious. And congratulations on taking that big step of sending it to others for comments. I’m still on my own journey toward that with my own current project, but I’ve done it before and know it isn’t easy. Good luck with it.

    1. Thank you. This is the second time for me, and I forgot how nerve-wracking it is to send my baby off. At the same time it’s a relief, though, knowing that I’m making progress.

Leave a Reply

