life

Ramblings

“Just sit down and start writing. Something always comes.”

Those were the words of wisdom my Creative Writing teacher shared the class today. I’m hoping that’s true, because I don’t know what I’m writing about right now. I’m warning you: this is going to be a rambly post.

Today was my second day of class, and I spent three hours sitting in Room 104 listening to my professor, a fascinating man who holds an M.F.A in Creative Writing. He got his undergraduate at Austin Peay, which is where I want to go (yes, my dream college changed. Long story, involving a change of major. I’m an English girl now, rather than Equine Science. I might still switch back, because a friend of mine is an Equine Science major at MTSU and whenever he talks about his classes I get really jealous).

I think I’m going to like my creative writing class. We’ll be covering poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction. It’s a combination lecture and workshop, which means my horrific attempts at poetry will be bared for all the class to see. I’m kind of scared.

But I’m thinking of a new story, something that’s been percolating in my head for awhile. It’s a very basic premise, but once I flesh it out I think it’ll be pretty fabulous. Y’know. After I write it. And rewrite it. And edit it.

You know, the reason I’m not going to post a review on Bloodrose is because I know there’s no way on earth I’ll be able to write one without prejudice or spoilers. The ending evoked an extremely emotional response for me, to the point where I couldn’t look at the book without experiencing that emotional response all over again.

It’s very hard.

With three literature classes, I have just a bit of reading to do before I can surrender to the soft heaven known as bed to experience a few hours of the wonderful sleep of the weary – at least until five thirty tomorrow morning, my wakeup call to be at the barn on time. It’s exhausting, but I can’t pass up a chance to be with my darling Nick.

Adios!

Leave a Reply

