Uncategorized

Kreativ Blogger Award!

I was given an award! Dude, my awesomeness knows no bounds! No, I’m totally kidding. Honestly.

Kreativ Blogger Award

I was awarded the Kreativ Blogger Award by Jonathan Allen of Shaggin’ the Muse, a blog whose title I never cease to be amused by. I love it! Thank you very much, Jonathan, for sharing in the Kreativ awesomeness. Now, there are a couple of rules I must adhere to lest my award be snatched away from me.

1. Thank my nominator. 

2. List seven interesting things about me. 

3. Nominate seven other bloggers. 

Thanks have been said, although they warrant being said again: thanks so much, Jonathan!

Now, seven interesting things about me.

Number one: My muse is a horse statue that I keep on my desk. I bought him from a yard sale for twelve bucks. He’s about twenty inches tall and has a mane made out of shells. He’s pretty awesome, and his name is, guess – Muse! He weighs a ton and takes up a lot of desk space, but I love him.

Number two: I’m obsessed with Pit Bulls. My first dog was a Pit Bull, and in spite of all the bad rap they get, they’re some of the most amazing dogs in the world. I’ve never met a Pit Bull I didn’t like. Even one I found on the street was an absolutely adorable loving sweetheart, and if I hadn’t found her owner, I would have taken her home in a heartbeat.

Number three: My favorite movie is Kill Bill. I’m not sure I should be announcing this to the world as it is just about the most gratuitously gory movie ever, but I love it. Beatrix Kiddo is a fabulous character, and Bill is the most awesome villain ever. And don’t even get me started on the classic lines to be found in volumes one and two. Fountains of blood and expletives aside, there’s a good story there. It’s best if you watch it on TV where it’s censored.

Number four: I’m a total rebel. Once, I deliberately didn’t return a library book on time so I could finish reading it. I kept waiting for the Library Cops to show up at my house, taser me, and take me to where people who commit crimes against the library are taken, but it hasn’t happened. So, technically, I’m on the lam. Don’t tell anyone. And while I’m confessing: sometimes I don’t use the crosswalks at intersections.

Number five: It really bums me out that I won’t be old enough to drink champagne when I graduate college. See, I always had this image in my head of toasting with a pretty champagne glass to celebrate my freedom, but then I realized… I’ll only be twenty. My twenty-first birthday will come several months after I graduate. Granted, I don’t even know what champagne tastes like, and it’s possible I won’t like it, but that’s my dream. And now it’s been crushed.

Number six: Simply to be ridiculous, I tell my two-year-old nephew that his sippy cup is a fish. He now uses “cup” and “fish” interchangeably to talk about his cup. This is one of my proudest moments. When he goes to daycare at church, my older sister (his mom) has to tell the people in charge, “If he asks for his fish, he means he’s thirsty.” Apparently, they thought he meant he wanted goldfish crackers, so they kept giving him salty crackers when all he wanted was a drink. I’m a bad aunt in that hearing this story made me roll on the ground laughing.

Chapter seven: A couple of years ago, when I was writing in my journal in bed with about a thousand different pencils, I accidentally stabbed myself in the foot with one. There’s been a chunk of pencil lead in my foot ever since. I’ve given up evicting it since it’s pretty well embedded. Although I’m a tad bit afraid of dying of lead poisoning, I’m more afraid of the piece of my foot I would lose if I had to cut it out. Ridiculous, I know, but that’s that. Pencil lead probably can’t do much harm. Right?

Okay! Seven bloggers, prepare to share the Kreativ awesomeness!

Ally! 

Mirriam! (congrats on getting your story published!)

Stephanie! (I’ve almost figured out my Skype problem!)

Kristin! 

Valerie!

Julie! 

Another Valerie! 

There you have it, ladies! Pass on the Kreativ awesomeness!

Every time I do this, I realize I don’t know a lot of blogs. Suggestions for readings, anyone? What are the most fabulous blogs you read?

7 thoughts on “Kreativ Blogger Award!

  1. Thanks Gabrielle! I’ll have to do a post up for this. 🙂

    As for finding new blogs, that’s part of what these awards are great for. Check out the other nominations by the person who gave it to you, and also those by the people you nominated. Over the past several months, it’s been one of my best ways to find people, especially with the changes they made to topic browsing (agh, I hate the new one).

    1. Thanks!

      I don’t like the new topic browsing, either. But I do like the new way they do notifications. It’s a lot like Facebook notifications, which is cool.

Leave a Reply

