Awards · life · writing

Why I Was Gone This Time, the Booker Award, and the Book Learning Podcast!

Well, hello there peeps! I’ve been absent for a while again, so there’s a lot to catch you up on, first and foremost being the reason for my absence this past week: my grandfather passed away, and I was in SC with family for his funeral. My grandfather was an amazing husband to my grandfather, father to my mother, and grandfather to me and all my siblings and cousins. It’s so strange that he’s gone, and I’m not really used to the idea of it yet.

While I was in SC, I was awarded the Booker Award – hence why I’m only just now getting around to it – from Katie at Writer in Progress.

The rules are: name your five favorite books and pass the award on to five to ten other bloggers; the blogs must be about books/writing at least 50 percent of the time.

Five of my favorite books are FREAK, by one of my writing buddies. It’s unpublished, but not for long! I utterly adore this book. It’s marvelous. Then there’s DAIRY QUEEN by the wonderful Catherine Gilbert Murdock. She’s a brilliant writer and has the most wonderful characters. I couldn’t make any sort of favorite book list without DOWN THE RABBIT HOLE by Peter Abrahams. The MC, Ingrid, is one of my favorite characters of all time. Of the fantasy genre there’s EON and EONA, two books which I’m counting as one, which feature dragons and kung-fu and all manner of awesomeness. Finally, Terri Farley’s SEVEN TEARS INTO THE SEA, which is a novella I think, and a very hauntingly beautiful one.

Okay, as for re-awarding this, I’m going to be a cheater. Anybody who wants it can have it! I think we all need a chance to feel the pressure of picking just five of our favorite books 🙂 Haha. Have at it!

Okay! Two more orders of business to cover in this post. First, is… drumroll please… the podcast! My wonderful web friend Stephanie from LifeinLimbo and I are making a podcast together about writing and books. She already wrote a great post on our endeavor here, so I won’t beat a dead horse. You can download/listen to our first episode here. I swear I don’t sound so hick-like in real life. I kept dropping my g’s. Gah. But I had a ton of fun doing it, and Stephanie’s like a pro! You can also watch the video of our podcast here.

Final note of business:

Our next podcast topic is going to be on resources/tips/great quotes for writers when they’re just starting out on the fabulous journey that is writing – fiction or otherwise. We want to hear your ideas! If you could tell your beginner writer self a few things, what would they be? What are some of the lessons you’ve learned since you started writing?

Stephanie and I will share some of your stuff during the podcast (giving full credit to you of course!). Feel free to still share your stories even if you don’t want to be mentioned during the podcast.

Okay. Long post. I’m done now. I hope to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “Why I Was Gone This Time, the Booker Award, and the Book Learning Podcast!

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your grandfather, but I’m really excited about the podcast. I’ve subscribed and am currently downloading the first one. 🙂

  2. Oh Gab’s I’m so sorry to hear about that! I hope you are feeling okay. My best wishes for you and your family! I just watched your podcast! I’m jealous… I wish I had enough time to do one myself :/ Also you don’t sound hick at all… actually I think my accent is worse than yours! Oh dear! Can’t wait to hear/see more from you!

    1. Thanks, Ally. It’s been really weird to think that my grandfather isn’t here anymore, but I know he’s happier now.

      If you ever have the time, you should do a podcast! I’ve been having insane fun with it. Not to mention it gave me an excuse to buy a cool new webcam 🙂

Leave a Reply

