writing

On Critique Partners

Hello, all! I’ve been slacking off blogging big time lately, so bear with me while I offer the usual load of spineless excuses.

A) This past week was the last week of my summer Spanish class, so I spent loads of time studying like a madwoman for the final.

B) I’ve been obsessed with book seventeen. It’s currently at 40,700 words and climbing steadily to its 63,000 word target goal. I’m finishing it as part of Camp NaNoWriMo, but since I started it last month I feel like a cheater, so I’m going to have to write something else to feel legit.

C) I’ve been up to my ears in horses, as a friend was out of town and I had to take care of her horses every day, along with finishing up the session at Saddle Up, and helping out with new volunteer training at SU, which was loads of fun.

There, now that that’s out of the way – on to the next thing! After missing two/three-ish weeks of podcasting due to our busy schedules, Stephanie and I recorded episode six of the Book Learning Podcast today! Yay! It was part two of what will end up being a three part series on editing your novel.

Part three will be about… dun dun dun… the critique partner aspect of editing, and how important it is to get external feedback. On that note, I’d love to hear your thoughts. I know you all have some info, anecdotes, advice, etc to share on being critiqued and finding a critique partner, and it would be great to have some perspectives beside mine and Stephanie’s on the podcast.

So, tell me your stories and share your advice! If you don’t mind, you’ll get mentioned on the podcast (receiving full credit for your genius, naturally), and get to help lots of beginning writers on their road to famous-dom.

Did that sound dramatic enough? I wanted it to sound better than just “let me pick your brains.” Did it work?

ANYWAY.

How goest life? I know Juan Villagrana is having some breakthroughs, L.L McKinney got an agent, and Allie hit the nail on the head with 20 things writers do. What’ve you been up?

4 thoughts on “On Critique Partners

  1. I don’t have any specfic examples coming to mind, but I do know without CPs, I’d never snag an agent or get published. Having someone else look at my writing really helps me see things I’d never thought of and catch problems I’d never noticed. It’s super hard to find CPs that are a good match, but I think it’s worth the work.

    1. I was super lucky in the crit partner business. She found me through a writing site we were both a part of and we hit it off immediately. You really have to trust your crit partner to share your writing with them.

Leave a Reply

