writing

The Perils of Sharing

I don’t have to tell you how scary sharing your writing can be. I’ve written about it before, and I think we’ve all experienced it in some fashion. You sweat your blood into a project, and then you give it to somebody who could possibly love it, possibly hate it, and definitely has the ability to crush your delicate ego hopes.

Well, the other day I sent my child, Summer Rush, off to a great blogger because she was awesome and wanted to read it (the two facts are not related – as in, she isn’t awesome because she wanted to read it. Haha). She liked it, so that was great for my ego. It bolstered my faith a little more that SR isn’t doomed to the SAFE THAT HOUSES/HIDES AWFULNESS for the rest of its life.

A couple of days ago, I finished Next Full Moon. A few days before that, I was explaining its plot to my sister and brother, both who were fascinated and wanted to know what happened. So as soon as I finished it and gave it a quickie revision, my sister demanded to read it. I sent it to her yesterday, and she started reading it this morning before class.

Yesterday, a scriptwriter that I know from church and I were talking about books and writing and such, and he asked very politely if he could read one of my books sometime. So I’m trying to decide what I should send to him that isn’t too angsty teenage-girly.

There’s a point to this post, and it is this: sharing is scary, and I’m about to do a lot of it in the next couple of weeks. I kind of wish I was already living in my alley behind Logan’s so nobody could find me to ask to read my crap work.

If there are no posts for awhile, assume it’s because either my sister or the scriptwriter hated my books and I’m crouched under my bed, sobbing and tearing out my hair and otherwise mourning for the death of my ego.

3 thoughts on “The Perils of Sharing

  1. Hi! I’m assuming that I am the blogger you mentioned. Thanks for the shout out (and for calling me a blogger! I’m terrible at updating my blog and the name made me giggle).

    I agree that sharing your work is difficult. Currently, I’m working on the most personal piece that I have ever written. About 40,000 words in, I finally found the nerve to share it with my family. I’m ashamed to admit that this is the first time – though I’ve been about there before – that reviews brought me to tears. A few times from happiness, but also due to criticism. We, as authors, are basically opening our hearts and letting people toy with them. It’s amazing when someone likes your work and it’s a constant struggle to be grateful for the chance to learn and grow when they don’t. Remember that writing is a process. It’s an art form. It’s impossible to please everyone, but keeping our stories hidden from the world would be unbearable. A writer who doesn’t write is just a person with a thousand voices in their head desperate to get out. Rush and Lex needed to speak and you are the only person in the world who can let them do that. It’s an interesting kind of experience.

    Personally, I know the joy that I get from writing is unparalleled by anything else in this world. It transports me to another plane of existence and I know that I could never stop now. It would be stifling, painful, and terrifying. A few negative reviews or harsh words can never take what writing gives me away. I hope you can remember that if your words touch one person then you’ve done more than some writers have the courage to do in a life time. They’ve definitely reached me.

    1. So very well said! I’ve had reviews bring me to tears as well, and depending on whether they were happy or sad tears, it can be the most joyous or devastating feeling in the world. But I would never trade it for anything!

Leave a Reply

