School · writing

Creative Writing Club

Well, peeps, I’m going to join Austin Peay’s Creative Writing Club. It’s about time I did something on this campus besides sit in classes and stuff my face in the cafeteria (their pizza is so blazing yummy!).

I went to the introductory meeting last night, and the officers explained to we newcomers how everything works, critiquing etiquette, etc. There are about thirty people, and each meeting a few people read their work aloud, and everyone comments and makes notations on the copy they’re given.

To be honest, I don’t foresee myself reading my abominable crap stuff for the first couple of meetings, but I’m looking forward to getting to work with other people’s writings. I mean, hello! Future editor in training here. I would be crazy if I didn’t.

[I’d just like to take a quick moment to say my phone is a pain in the butt.]

Anyway, so yeah, that’s what I did last night. I’m pretty excited to be part of a writing group in real life; that’s a first for me.

Have y’all ever been in a creative writing group in real life? How’d it work out?

One thought on “Creative Writing Club

  1. Sounds like it could be a lot of fun. I’m not a fan of reading any of my work prematurely. It really kicks my inner editor into overdrive. But it’s awesome to be able to spend time with other writers, especially if they’re encouraging and supportive (only time will tell about that, I guess :D).

Leave a Reply

