writing

I’m At It Again

Ladies, gents, flies on the wall, how many times have I tried to write Summer Rush’s companion novel, California Girl? I’m honestly not trying to sound conceited, but a lot of people ask me about it, and I always hem and haw and mutter into my shirt collar about how I’m working on it, I swear.

In reality, after several months of lying about it, I’ve actually picked up my first draft, found a pen that I like, and have begun marking up that draft with stinging remarks. That’s how I like to critique my first drafts. None of that kid gloves stuff. I’ve been known to write “WHAT THE HECK IS THIS? DO YOU HAVE A BRAIN IN YOUR HEAD?” along with assorted unmentionable words in the margins with many exclamation points and scowling faces.

Once I’m suitably mortified and ashamed of my writing, I find it much easier to deal with. There’s no way to ruin it further, and I can only improve the writing. Who knew lecturing yourself was so freeing?

Sometimes I make smiley faces, too. And sometimes I give myself a cookie. So editing can be rewarding as well. This is assuming I’m still coherent enough to find the cookies, as I tend to bang my head against the wall a lot and I might accidentally give myself a concussion.

If so, I may request help in finding cookies. Y’all will help me out, right?

One thought on “I’m At It Again

  1. Once I’m suitably mortified and ashamed of my writing, I find it much easier to deal with. There’s no way to ruin it further, and I can only improve the writing. Who knew lecturing yourself was so freeing?

    So true… so true. Good luck finding some cookies 😉

Leave a Reply

