life

Step Numero Uno

Clearly, the universe wants me to follow up on my resolution from my last post. What should I see in my school email inbox this morning but a call from student publications to come see what they’re up to? I’ve always wanted to work on a student newspaper, ever since I was a kid. Being a homeschooler, my only option was to make one of my own (which I did, which was fun) but here’s my chance to get involved with the real deal.

So that’s on the agenda for my day, as if prepping the poem for my writing workshop class that will be vivisected on the 18th. I signed up for the very first workshop day, as I have the very bad attitude of “let’s get this over with as soon as possible.” I’m very nervous about it, and I haven’t even chosen what poem will be workshopped.

In other poetry news, we did an interesting writing prompt in creative writing club yesterday. You had to interview someone else in the group and then write a poem incorporating the answers to four questions: 1) Where were you on 9/11 and what was your reaction? 2) Who is a non-American public figure you admire and why? 3) What was the last thing you cooked? 4) What does respect mean to you?

It was a lot of fun, and there were a ton of awesome poems written and shared. Ramen noodles was a common last-cooked-food, by the way. We college students love our Ramen…. or we at least make it a lot.

Entonces, tengo que tarea espanol y literatura! Adios!

Leave a Reply

