life

It’s Bloody Hard to Keep Up with Everything

I think we can all agree that I’m not very organized. I’m a little bit scatter-brained and a lot spontaneous with a dab of airhead. Those are the ingredients used when my brain was assembled, and that’s that.

So I may be alone (although I highly doubt it) when I say that it’s just so freaking hard to keep up with everything. I’m not even talking life everything; I’m just talking writing everything. There are so many things I want to do, and I’m only trying to do half of them, and I’m only actually completing half of that half.

You get me?

I know you know what I’m talking about, even if you’re more graceful – quiet – about your difficulties. Sometimes it’s good to get it off your chest. That’s what I’m doing with this post. Sometimes my nerves of steel fail me and I get overwhelmed and then I must rant and whine and otherwise flail about and lament my life. This may or may not lead to me dreaming about my Logan’s alley.

So, I don’t know if I ever mentioned that I entered a contest to have the first page of my novel critiqued by an editor. Well, two amazing ladies plus myself were the lucky winners, and I just got my critiqued page back yesterday. The editor was super helpful and super encouraging, and now I’m going to hack at page one (imagine me slashing with my red pen, red ink flying… very dramatic… like a battle scene) before I enter this contest, by the awesome Teens Can Write Too blogging crew.

Querying folks between 13 and 20, flock that way immediately! There are some awesome agents and awesomeness and stuff. GO! There is also other cool stuff that you don’t have to be querying to enjoy.

In other news, it’s time to start thinking about planning for NaNo (September is for thinking about planning; October is for actual planning; November is for actual writing). I have no idea what I’m writing this year, although it might be book three in NFM’s trilogy, if I finish book two in October, which means I should probably start thinking about writing that, too.

But in the meantime, I’m critiquing a couple of books for friends, editing CG, and editing IWNAT. Busy busy busy! If I actually got done what needs to be done, I would be so… um, studious? Non-procrastinate-y? I don’t even know the word for it. Yeesh.

6 thoughts on “It’s Bloody Hard to Keep Up with Everything

  1. Congrats on winning that contest! It sounds really helpful. And I wish I were three years younger so I could enter that pitch contest. 😀

    But you’re definitely not alone. I think we all feel overwhelmed at times, like we’re not doing all that we should do. I’m feeling that way today. But I have faith that you’ll be able to accomplish everything that you need to do!

    1. YES! Newbies are awesome! You’ll have so much fun. My first year was my best, both in terms of fun-having and word count, because I was still in high school and had more time on my hands. It gets more challenging time-wise each year, but that just makes me even prouder when it’s all said and done with 🙂

Leave a Reply

