Uncategorized

Self-Publishing, Sonnets, and Shakespeare

Today was Shakespeare class, and as always, my professor had some fascinating things to say. We’re reading Merchant of Venice, and on Wednesday we’re going to watch a movie and do a movie analysis. I’ve never been a big Shakespeare fan, as the first of his works I tried to read was Hamlet, and it made me want to climb headfirst into a hole.

But upon reading the Merchant of Venice and seeing Shakespeare in the Park’s awesome rendition of Much Ado About Nothing, I’ve decided to give the old writer another shot.

And on the topic of Shakespeare, guess what I have to write for poetry class? A Shakespearean sonnet. It’s due tomorrow and I haven’t even thought about it since my teacher assigned it. Once this post is done, I’m going to be busting my butt for awhile trying to write the sonnet.

In addition, I also need to figure out what poem I’m going to use for the poetry workshop. I’m thinking about using my quadruple abecedarian that I wrote for creative writing class, but I still feel uncertain about that one. I kind of still want to hide it in a dark drawer.

ANYWAY, I sent in my entry for the agent pitch contest at Teens Can Write Too, and now I have no excuse to keep me from doing my homework. Blegh.

As to the self-publishing bit of this post’s title – a couple of posts ago, I mentioned a friend of mine, a scriptwriter. Well, he’s a novel writer too, it turns out, and he’s weighing the pros and cons of self-publishing versus traditional publishing, and I told him I’d send him some interesting articles. So I have to collect some of the best ones, and if you don’t mind, I’m going to ask for your help! If you’ve had any interest in the two options at all and have come across some really phenomenal information, shoot it my way! I know the scriptwriter would be really grateful.

That’s it! Sonnets and Shakespeare and some British Lit are calling! Adios! Hasta manana! Va con Dios!

Gabs

(Te gusta como pongo alguno espanol en la entrada? You like how I slipped some Spanish in there?)

8 thoughts on “Self-Publishing, Sonnets, and Shakespeare

  1. Shakespeare is fun! I loved his sonnets. 🙂

    As for self-publishing, it depends. Does your friend want to try for print or e-publishing? Either way, I can sum it up quickly:

    Traditional publishing takes literally years to get your manuscript from your drawer to bookstores, while self-publishing in print takes just a few days and e-publishing a few hours. Also: http://blog.nathanbransford.com/2012/08/the-publishing-process-in-gif-form.html.

    In self-publishing you have more control over things, get more of the royalties, but have to do all the promoting and formatting yourself (unless you know people who can help you). It’s not as fun as it sounds, but if done correctly, may yield great results.

    I wouldn’t suggest self-publishing in print to traditional publishing, but I do know people who’ve succeeded at self-publishing their ebooks. I’m an indie author myself, though I’ve only e-published poetry.

    More here:
    http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-18438_7-10119891-82/self-publishing-a-book-25-things-you-need-to-know/
    http://www.themillions.com/2011/11/reasons-not-to-self-publish-in-2011-2012-a-list.html

    Good luck with everything! 😀

    1. Thanks so much. I’ll pass all of this along. Honestly, I’m not sure if he wants to print publish or e-publish, as we didn’t talk about it in depth, but I know this will help a lot!

  2. Shakespeare. The only thing I’ve read of his is Macbeth, and I actually enjoyed it. Technically, we read it as a class last year, but still! Well, we listened to the audiobook while reading along. I got a kick out of the voice acting!
    Good luck with your entry, by the way! I should probably go back a few posts and catch up on everything, though. *sigh*
    Good luck!
    (Y si, me gusto tu inclusion de Espanol! En mi caso, a veces no se cuales palabras necesitan marcas de accento. Pues algunas si se, pero no se como usar el teclado para ponerselas. Si entiendes esto, verdad? Hehe.)
    =)

  3. I have a book of the complete works of Shakespeare. If you throw it at my head I will die. It’s just huge. Someday I’ll be able to work through it!

    Well currently I’m learning about all that so I can’t in good conscience give advice. However, I wish you the best of luck in finding the info…:)

    1. Haha. My Shakespeare book is massive, too, although I don’t know if it’s his complete works. If you dropped it into my backpack while I was standing up, it would probably flip me over backward.

      Okay, not really 🙂

  4. I’ve self-published and while getting it out quickly, widely and on my own terms is great, marketing and promotion can be extremely difficult. For my next projects I’m thinking of getting an agent and going the traditional route. It may take longer, but it seems easier on the pocket and agents and the like seem to have more connections. I’ve always been more for the traditional way of things, but self-publishing was a great experience in getting my feet wet. I guess it depends on opinion and what works best for an individual. I will say that the community of self-published authors are very supportive 🙂

    1. Being utterly on my own where marketing and promotion is concerned is what would make me wary of it. Supposedly you don’t get much support from a traditional publisher in that way, anyway, but I think I’d need all the help I could get.

Leave a Reply

