life · writing

NaNo’s Getting Closer

It’s almost time for NaNo, y’all! I’m getting pretty excited, although I’ve been terrible about writing regularly in these past couple of weeks (darn school). I need NaNo to psyche me up and force me to write. I’m really hoping I can get the creative writing club on board with NaNo.

I have a ton of writing assignments for class this weekend, which I’m less excited about simply because of the amount of them (and my laziness, obviously), and I have a big Spanish test on Monday that I should be studying for at the moment.

In terms of what I’ve been working on the past couple of days, one word: synopsis. I had a five-page synopsis that I had to whittle down to a single page. I whined and cried and banged my head against the wall. I whined a little more and wrote seven different drafts and then I had a synopsis that was three-fourths of a page long.

Oh yeah. I rock. You don’t even have to tell me.

In final results of the agent pitch contest that TCWT held, I had an agent request my work! Yay! Hence the whittling of the synopsis.

I maintain that synopses are the hardest part of querying. The actual book and the query letter pale in comparison, in my humble opinion. Not a fan of ’em, at all, although on the flip side of things I do enjoy the challenge.

ANYWHO, NaNo. Preppage.

Who am I kidding? I’m not going to plan anything! I’M A REBEL!

Peace.

2 thoughts on “NaNo’s Getting Closer

  1. I also find the synopsis to be the hardest part. They’re so pesky! Grrr… I can’t ever get them neatly into one page. They always want to be ONE line over.

Leave a Reply

