NaNoWriMo

TCWT October Blog Chain – NANO!

This is my first time ever being part of a blog chain, so I’m purty excited. I’m going to try to link to all the other blogs in the chain at the end of this post if I can find them all. But anywho! The topic for this month’s chain is….

“What are you writing for NaNoWriMo? Briefly explain how this book idea come about. Then write a mock first page for the novel.”

For NaNo, I’m writing a novel called Broken Moon, it’ll be roughly 75,000 words, and it’s the third book in a trilogy (I’m currently writing book two, so hopefully it’ll be done by NaNo). I knew when I wrote the first book in the trilogy, Next Full Moon, that I wanted to write more than one book about the characters, and a trilogy seemed the perfect length.

And now, mock page one!

I’d been in hospitals plenty of times before. Somebody had to take the vamp attack victims in for care, and occasionally that person was me. I left them in the capable hands of the ER staff and then took off again, either to wash the vamp blood off my hands and clothes or to hunt down stragglers.

This was my first time on the other side of things.

The gurney I lay on creaked as they pushed it down the hall, and doctors’ and nurses’ faces floated above me in a gray, red-tinged haze.

I must have blood in my eyes. That should probably hurt.

Pain had stopped registering a long time back, somewhere between getting hit on the back of the head and having my neck torn open by vamp fangs. The gurney went through a pair of swinging doors, and a rush of voices hit my ears as people called out orders and responses and blood pressure.

I closed my eyes for a second and was immediately patted on the cheek, jerked back to wakefulness. One of the nurses, the redheaded one, spoke, probably telling me to stay awake or something, but I couldn’t.

I was lifted from the gurney, and the jolt of my body hitting the hospital bed snapped me fully awake again. Everything in the world was hazy bloody, and I blinked a few times, trying to clear my vision.

“Hey, champ,” somebody said. I turned my head a fraction of an inch to see who had spoken.

Brown hair. Brown eyes. I blinked once more and made out Farren, crushed between two doctors, refusing to move even when they ordered him out of the way. His whole face was black and blue, and the right side of his face was sliced open. He looked like he’d been attacked by a tiger.

Seeing the claw marks made me remember.

A doctor put an oxygen mask over my face, so I couldn’t apologize, or curse, or even tell Farren to give me the smack across the face I deserved. I could only close my eyes and start to cry.

“It’s not your fault,” Farren said.

Right. It wasn’t at all my fault that the world was going to end.

*

October 5

October 6

October 7

10 thoughts on “TCWT October Blog Chain – NANO!

  1. Yes! I will be writing, too, but I’m not talking about my book. In the past, I have “talked” books out before they were complete. It doesn’t work for me. My book is a middle grade fantasy (no knights or dragons. The “world” is contemporary and very close to home.)

    1. I’ve found that some books I can talk about, and some I just can’t; it spoils them for me because then I know them too well and it takes all the fun and mystery out of writing them.

  2. Okay, to be honest the first paragraph seemed really cliche and kinda put me off – but everything got REALLY ENTICING from there. The second paragraph was a great hook, and I wonder if maybe you could move that up a bit by deleting the second line of the first paragraph.

    Anyways, the rest of it was pretty great too, enough information to get a sense of the world, but too a whole info dump. I liked how you introduced just one other character (and did a good job of giving us a sense of his character through his actions, however few).

    The best part was the last line. If I read that on the back of a book or as an agent who had requested a first page, I would read the rest of the book in an instant. Love it!

    P.S. You may already know this, but the list of blogs in the chain is mostly here if you scroll way down, although not links directly to each post: http://teenscanwritetoo.wordpress.com/blog-chain/

    1. You’re right – I could probably just cut out that whole first paragraph. I tend to cut out first pages or even first chapters when I edit, because that’s “warm-up” stuff that just gets me started.

      Thanks for the link! I don’t know how I didn’t notice that.

  3. Oooh, this is really interesting stuff! I like it! But I agree that the first paragraph can be cut. Have fun with NaNo!

Leave a Reply

