Uncategorized

Add your thoughts here… (optional)

{wishful thinking}

I was recently asked a question that, in all honestly, I don’t feel qualified to answer. However, it’s a question that I think is very interesting and one of my favorite things to work on when writing. The question was, “How do you write deep characters and deep novels?” It’s only nine words (I’m fairly certain; math never was my strong point) but it packs a punch. Reading YA literature these days – or any literature, for that matter – has shown me that as a society, we are really lacking depth. Our novels are a mile wide and an inch deep. They may have great plots and vast ideas and hilarious characters,  but so often I finish a book and put it down and realize there was no lasting anything to it. I came away without being strengthened or convicted about anything, I came away without any interesting questions…

View original post 802 more words

Leave a Reply

